Reviews For New Beginnings
Title: Building Bridges

smh. O...M...G...This series is crazy! And it reminds me so much of "Skin Deep", especially regarding the awkward and hard to understand dynamics between 1). the father that's done wrong to the mother, 2). the mother whose life was forever changed by the actions of the father, and 3). the child that is a product of it all (in more ways than one). You seem to really like that story format! lol And I can't say that I blame you, because conflict like this definitely makes for a good story.

Though it wouldn't have made any difference to me anyway, I'm glad to know that I'm not the only member of 'Team'-HENNY, in all of this lol. If I was Henny, I too would be mad about everything happening between Vanessa and Henry because of the quickness/severity/intensity/unexpectedness of it all, and also because I'd be worried that Vanessa is making a bad decision for her and now the baby by blindly accepting Henry back into her life.

I only agree with Vanessa and/or Henry regarding two points: 1). Vanessa constantly telling Henny that they are all adults, and that with Henny being an adult now, she needs to live her own life and allow her parents to live their own lives too (but especially Vanessa). 2). Henry trying to do what's right this time around and making an effort to be the husband and/or father that Vanessa, Henny, and the unborn child deserve (even if it is starting 20+ years later than it should've started).

I don't believe in forgiving and forgetting regarding all things, nor do I believe in simply making decisions because of 'love' or any other emotion. Yet that's exactly what Vanessa and Henry are doing, and it's very immature of them both (to the point that it's actually somewhat annoying lol). I understand both of them wanting this second chance by getting married and having a child that they can raise together, but making smart decisions instead of making impulsive decisions is also part of adulthood.

Whether they notice it or not, being reunited seems to have turned them both back into youngsters (just like Henny). They're accusing her of being selfish, irrational, and acting like a spoiled brat, but I think that they are the ones being selfish and irrational by making a bunch of clearly ridiculous decisions and then just expecting everybody else to accept whatever they do (again, they have the right to do what they want with their own lives, but they don't have the right to expect others to blindly accept what they do).

Personally, I could never make the decisions that Vanessa has made in this situation. If it was me, Henry would be lucky if I gave him my blessing to even be a part of Henny's life after everything that's happened, much less my life. And I'd only give him my blessing to spend time with Henny if he proved to both of us that he was serious about being around and being the father that she deserves. He'd NEVER have a second chance at being with me.

If it wasn't for the fact that Vanessa is a willing participant in all of this, I would say that Henry is being 100% selfish, in all of this. I believe that he loves and has always loved Vanessa (despite the years, his marriage, etc.), but just because he loves her and she loves him doesn't mean that they should be together, especially this quickly and under these circumstances. It's incredibly unfair for him to basically expect Vanessa and Henny to forget about their years alone (without a husband in Vanessa's case and without a father in Henny's case) and struggling, whereas he married (though it wasn't a happy marriage) and lived wealthily.

I will say that though I'm not happy with Vanessa nor Henry as of now, I do hope that things work out for everybody, in the long run. I hope that they do get married eventually and raise the baby together, if that's what they want to do. And I hope that Henny eventually accepts all of this and becomes a willing member of their family of four. But I think that Vanessa and Henry should have done things differently.  

This story might truly be one of the most compelling that I think I've ever read! Please update it soon :)

Reviewer: guest Anonymous [Report This]
Date: October 14 2016 07:33 pm

Title: The Gift

This is cool, and I noticed the following stories are complete too, yippee... I know that was lame, but whatever! :)

Reviewer: swirly_girl Signed [Report This]
Date: February 27 2015 05:32 am

Title: Building Bridges

Today was the first time I read this story. Great story. However I see you left us readers hanging. Your last update was a a couple of years ago 😰

You responded to a review 08/13. Is this going to be one of those stories that will be on the incomplete list?



Author's Response:

Reviewer: Great story hanging Anonymous [Report This]
Date: November 20 2014 09:22 am

Title: Building Bridges

I really hope you update this series soon, Vanessa is like a year over do for an ass whipping.

Author's Response:

I know.  I really need to get on my unfinished projects!  *sigh*  I haven't forgotten about this series, so stay tuned.

Reviewer: Raynee Signed [Report This]
Date: August 23 2013 02:48 am

Title: Building Bridges

I know you got a lot on your table but don't forget this story. I want to see Henry and Vanessa get their happy ending. They've had so much drama.

Reviewer: juno Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16 2013 11:37 pm

Title: Building Bridges

I started re-reading this series and fell in love with this story all over again.

Lamont is a hoot and grams is just strait up old school. When you get the chance update.

Reviewer: juno Signed [Report This]
Date: February 09 2013 04:21 pm

Title: Building Bridges

Great chapter! Loving the Will character!

Reviewer: aprilfool Anonymous [Report This]
Date: May 09 2012 06:22 pm

Title: We Shall Overcome Someday

Loved it!

Reviewer: aprilfool Anonymous [Report This]
Date: May 09 2012 06:00 pm

Title: We Shall Overcome Someday

Great update, loving the pace of the story!

Reviewer: aprilfool Anonymous [Report This]
Date: May 09 2012 05:44 pm

Title: The Gift

OMG - this was an awesome fic! I so want to know what happens next...

Reviewer: aprilfool Anonymous [Report This]
Date: May 09 2012 05:16 pm

Title: The Gift

This story can't be finished!

There can be so much more!



Author's Response:

This is the beginning of a series.  There's more for you to read!

Reviewer: Jamilla Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 20 2012 05:21 pm

Title: Building Bridges

@Raynee: I'm so with you on your views on Vanessa right now. Henny has been shut out on this big love affair her whole life, and really, she's been on her mother's side against what she has been led to believe was abandonment of her mother in her time of need. And you bring up something I never thought about, which is, does Vanessa blame Henny for this some how? When she talked about them both being lonely spinsters, I thought, well whose fault is that? She made it seem like Henny was why she was lonely. While she was trying to prove that she wasn't like her mother in that she didn't fall apart and end up in an institution, I feel she did fall apart emotionally. She completely shut down to anyone else in that regard, and as you point out, all Henny experienced was Vanessa's hurt and pain in the aftermath of it all. Also, as you point out, she has some explaining to do. Being the adult and mother doesn't excuse her of that. She seems rather upset that Henny is ruining her HEA by calling her out with all these pesky emotions, reactions, and questions. I'm now thinking grandma and Lamont may have a point about Vanessa and her maturity level. Personally, with the lack of information given to Henny, and the short amount of time this all has happened, Henny is basically acting like she's supposed to be.



Author's Response:

As always, I love your reviews.  Vanessa, Vanessa...

She wants what she wants.  She wanted Henry on New Years and had him.  When she realized that she might be pregnant, she ran to Maine knowing that Henry would want to marry her.

She keeps saying to herself that Henny is grown (which she is) because now she wants what she wants and she feels that she's done her duty as a mother.

Ah, but then there are those emotions between her and her daughter that don't follow any timeline.  It was just the two of them for so long and she KNEW that Henny would have a hard time with it, but she had been pineing for Henry so long, that mentally she couldn't deal with anything but regaining what she lost.  She said that she wasn't like her mother, but in a way she is.

Do you remember what happened when she went to visit her mother in the institution?  When her mother realized who Vanessa was, the first thing she asked her was if she'd seen her father.  Vanessa may not be certifiable, but she has some of her mother's tendencies.  LOL

So, where do we go from here?  Well you'll just have to wait for the update, because I havent figured it all out yet.

Thanks again for the wonderful reviews!

Reviewer: flikchick Signed [Report This]
Date: April 12 2012 04:40 am

Title: Building Bridges

Long review is long

I'm still on Henny's side and now surprisingly Henry's. I think as an only child of a single mother I can understand where Henny is coming from. It didn't feel right going out and having fun while I knew my mother was home alone, it wasn't till she started dating and hanging with friends that I felt comfortable enough to do the same. I don't know, there seems to be a bond between only children and their single parents that says it's us against the world and f- all others, of course when that dynamic is disrupted there will be issues. Most say that since Vanessa is the adult and mother she doesn't have to explain anything. But yeah she does, and it's unrealistic to think there would be no questions that deserve to be answered. I kind of get the feeling that for Vanessa now that she has her second chance, she really isn't concerning herself with how her daughter's taking it. Yes Henny is an adult and Vanessa is the mother but I see a lot of Vanessa talking at Henny not with her. Despite the evidence you've give showing that Henny is selfish and not wanting to grow up, I think there's more to it then that. I think that at this point Henny is feeling resentful, betrayed and annoyed with Vanessa but not wanting to confront her mother shoves her pent up feelings on the perceived outsider...Henry In the first installment of the series it took 21 years before Henny even knew her fathers name and if she wasn't on the donors list it may have taken longer. She knew nothing of Henry, not his name, age, race, birthday, nothing, and why..because her mother never told her. Vanessa allowed her past hurts to interfere with her child raising. Whenever lil Henny would ask about her father, Vanessa would just say it's too painful to talk about then abandon the subject. Nessa was so focused on the pain of the past, that she never even thought to tell Henny of the fun and good memories she had of Henry. It had gotten to the point where little Henny just stopped asking about her dad, knowing nothing of her father except he hurt her mother and after she met Henry and full story came out (the abandonment, the abortion), all the thoughts she must have had about what a bad man her father was, was given validation. And with her mother doing nothing counter her thoughts, is it an wonder why she gave him the cold shoulder?


In the New Years arc, Vanessa hit Henny. Now I know some where saying that Henny deserved it. But did she really? While Henny's delivery was crude, it did have it's gain of truth. Vanessa admitted to herself that things looked bad to someone who didn't have the information of knowing that the feelings between them came back. Did Vanessa tell her daughter that she still loved Henry, did she tell her that it was always Henry? Nope, she just slapped her then ran off. But before she did that she tried to use the justification the it was her father. What does Henry being Henny's father really mean to her daughter? Nothing, because the only thing Henny knew was he threw abortion money at her mother then ran toward his inheritance and then a marriage. While Henny was worrying about her mother being taken advantage of Vanessa was worrying about Henry. That act of violence was never addressed, but I'm sure Henny hasn't forgotten


Now in this latest installment, I must say completely turned me away from Vanessa. One thing stood out to me since the beginning of the series, is that while I'm sure she does,Vanessa has never said she loves Henny. I seen her say she loves Henry but not her daughter. While Henry has been tearful saying it all throughout. Henry has been the one telling Henny he loves her, that he isn't going anywhere, trying to integrate himself in her life, ease her into the new family dynamic and having her meet his father. While Vanessa was on the side lines. Henry is the one trying to let Henny know she's included, that she still has a place. But while Henry is trying to bring Henny closer Vanessa is essentially pushing her away. Saying that now that she's happy (i.e. had Henry back) and now has a life that Henny should go out and get one as well. I have yet to 'hear' Vanessa tell Henny that she's loves her or reassurance that she will always be her daughter which I think is all Henny needs to hear from her mother in order to calm down. Henny had said multiple times that she was going to be replaced once the baby came, but Henry was the one to hold her tell her he would always be there for her and how much he loves her while her mother just stood there with a frown. I wonder like Henny why wasn't Vanessa the one confronting her. It seems to me while Henry wants everything, Vanessa, Henny, the baby, Vanessa just wants Henry. Just because Henny is an adult doesn't mean Vanessa can't step up as a parent to reassurance her child, which it seems Henry is the only one who cares to. A lot of the issues with the three, I feel is Vanessa's fault. If she had just opened her mouth and told her daughter years ago, I love your father but it just didn't work out a ton a tension could have been cut there, Instead to sitting down a talking to her daughter after Henry came back into the picture, and telling her she still loves him, she smacked her then left. Vanessa is just talking at Henny not with her and that's a huge problem. If Vanessa had said I love your father, I love you and I really want the two of to get along for the sake of family, instead of handing Henry back the ring and and screaming at Henny that now their both gonna be lonely miserable spinsters Henny may have stayed. One again Vanessa is allowing her extreme emotions to interfere with her child rearing, Before it was too painful to talk about Henry, blocking all the good, now happiness at having Henry is blocking all reason of what her daughter going through. Yes love makes fools of us all and right now I think Vanessa is taking it to another level But that's just my 2 cents
Longest Review Ever!

On a complete side not I've seen you use Colin Farrell, Christian Bale and Dylan Mcdermott for Henry which is it cause a sista's confused



Author's Response:

Dear Longest Review Ever:  As for the pix of Henry, LOL I can't make up my mind.  I can't seem to find the perfect Henry so take your choice.

Now to your review.  I love the in depth analysis.   You bring things out that I have not even thought of and that helps my muse tremendously.

You are so right about Vanessa in so many things you said.  Vanessa's biggest fear was that she would turn out like her mother and end up losing her mind.  So instead, she shut down.  She held everything inside.  She loves Henny, she does and EVERYTIME she looked at her child, she saw Henry. She didn't talk about Henry because for one, he was white and she knew how her family would feel if they found out.  Even though Henny is fair skinned, she still looked black and so she wanted everyone to think that Henny's father was black because she was wrestling with all of the things she had been told about white people all of her life and she wanted to protect Henry.  She didn't want to tell the truth about why he wasn't there.  She was sure that her uncle Lamont would have had a field day with that information.

When Henry showed up on New Years, it was a dream come true for Vanessa. Henry McDermont was all she had ever wanted and he showed up on her doorstep.  She no longer had to settle for the reflections of him she saw in Henny's face.  She could actually have HIM for herself. 

While she thinks Henny is being selfish, Vanessa is selfish too.  She knows her daughter and if she had stuck to her guns and given Henry and Henny a little more time together and even told the two of them about the baby when all three of them were together, things could have turned out differently.  Instead she called Henry and told him that she wanted to be with him and went to Maine.

I must say however that Vanessa never resented Henny until now.  She was happy to have a part of Henry that she could love and cherish. Everyday she was grateful to have Henrietta a living testament of their love.  She should have told her daughter more, especially after she was older. That was a major blunder on Vanessa's part.  Sometimes people can't see the forest for the trees.

The two of them do need to sit down and have a heart to heart talk, and that is coming.  Vanessa needs to reassure Henny that she loves her, because she does.  She needs to take her focus off of herself and Henry and at least try to reason with Henny.

As for Henry, he will never be a whole man he feels until he has regained what he lost, his family.  He wants the whole package or he will never be whole.  If Vanessa opens her eyes and  realizes what it will take to make Henry happy, maybe she'll have a little more patience with her daughter.

Henny has lashed out at Henry and feels bad about it because she knows that Henry loves her and she loves him too, but she hasn't felt comfortable enough in their relationship to admit it yet.  All she's ever wanted was to know her father, to have him love her and for him to spend time with her.  The time with Henry in Charlotte was overwhelming for her, especially when she was in his room when he had that migraine.  She felt like a daughter in an intimate situation with her father and she loved it.  She wanted more of the same, and now she feels that has been taken from her by her mother.

Thanks again for the long, long and wonderful review.  More is coming and your thoughts are helping it to come!

 

 

Reviewer: Raynee Signed [Report This]
Date: April 12 2012 12:49 am

Title: Building Bridges

Finally Henny can get her own love life!  Hope she goes with the flow! Now she needs to sit and think about her relationship with her mother, father, and soon to be sibling.  Thank you for the extra chapter! You rock!



Author's Response:

Well, she's not going to be able to move on just yet.  LOL  She's still grappling with all that has happened and yes, she's attracted to Will but he's going to keep treating her like a kid and she's going to get mighty pissed off about it.  LOL

So, more is coming...

Reviewer: Jujubee50 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 11 2012 08:53 pm

Title: Building Bridges

Thanks for the update.

Reviewer: Divsionred Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 11 2012 12:11 pm

Title: Building Bridges

Loved the update!

Reviewer: baha_malo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 11 2012 07:52 am

Title: Building Bridges

Wow, what a shocker!! Henny being so upset!!

Reviewer: baha_malo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 11 2012 07:25 am

Title: Building Bridges

Me likey!!

Reviewer: baha_malo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 11 2012 06:41 am

Title: Building Bridges

This can't be the end of this installment too much left unresolved!!! But it was great!!! Thanks Brenda!!!



Author's Response:

More is coming...

But I have other updates to do first.  LOL

Reviewer: BossLady Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: April 11 2012 06:01 am

Title: Building Bridges

First I must gush and drool over Will Demp, I love that man!!!!  Now I must talk about Henny, Brenda I am glad that you let us in on her thoughts.  Henny you need to grow and quit being selfish.  Remember that you only have of yourself, your parents are grown.  I am so glad that she told her friend Cass who told her just how stupid and selfish that she was being.  Great usual Brenda!!



Author's Response:

Cass and Henny have been best buds for a long time and they can say anything they want to each other without offense.  Henny knows she's being selfish, but so is Vanessa.  They will have to work through their feelings which they will in upcoming chapters.

Ah, Will Demp is delicious.  Well that relationship will also be interesting.  First Will is older and an experienced man.  He's never been in love.  He's been women's boy toy for years and has never been in a serious relationship.  All the women he's had have been aggressive and older.  He's never had a relationship with anyone like Henny.  He has surmised that she's young and inexperienced, plus she's a family friend so he likes her, but he doesn't want to cross the line and bring on his family's wrath. He's attracted to her, yet she intimidates him at the same time.  He will attempt to hold her at arms length and Henny won't like it one bit, especially when Cass turns to be overprotective of her.

So, more is coming and keep those reviews coming because they feed my muse! 

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 11 2012 03:44 am

Title: Building Bridges

Another good chapter!

Will: Was he supposed to be cute or something? Frankly, he came off like a total a$$hole!! Training wheels? Try taking some of that same advice! Being a thirty year old man-whore doesn't make him mature; just easy.

Henny: I'm not sure if I believe that she's as self-centered as all that. Yes, she had her mother to herself, but it has only been the two of them. Clearly, time is not something she's going to continue to have, but I still say its what she needs. As far as Cass goes, unless this kind of thing(Henry and Henny) is something she grew up with herself and can identify with, she should shut it! She doesn't know what she's talking about. Calling Henry 'dad' doesn't make him her father. That's more than a title, its a lifetime of events that he wasn't present for. She will probably grow into it, but why should that mean anything.

Vanessa: She didn't move me much at all. I'm not trying to make her the bad guy, because she was wronged too, but I also dont agree with her trying to make Henny out to be the selfish one either. Henry was the only one who kept saying Henny's feeling mattered. Vanessa kept going on about not being alone anymore. Vanessa wants this and it just seems like whatever she needs to do to get it. I know she loves her daughter, but I'm really not sure her daughter (feelings) matters that much to her right now. Maybe she feels that it shouldn't. However, she's pissed that Henny is kicking up a fuss about it though.

Henry: Again, I still see his feelings in all this. He just wants his whole family, but I just don't think he or Vanessa see that there is a lot Henny has to work through. They're in a bubble becaue they are essentially picking up where they left off, but I'll keep saying its just not so for Henny. She has to catch up to something that she was basically shut out of her whole life.

Yeah...a mess.



Author's Response:

LOL Will is a total a hole, however he wasn't expecting to feel anythng when he kissed her, but he did.  LOL.  Now he still sees her as a bit of a kid, so he won't treat her like the other women he's been involved with.    Her innocense intimidates him.  He's always been around fast and easy women.  Henny is different.  He will handle her with kid gloves which will frustrate Henny to no end.  LOL

Cass, well she's a friend and you're right.  She's on the outside looking in so to speak.  However she and Henny have that type of relationship that they can say whatever to each other and still remain close.  She and Henny love to vent to one another and Henny feels that she can tell Cass anything.

Vanessa just wants Henry and yes, she doesn't like Henny's attitude.  Even though it's not Henny's fault she feels that she had done her duty so to speak as a Mom and Henny needs to grow up.  She doesn't know what to do to appease Henny and she's getting to the point where she doesn't even want to try anymore.

Henry wants what he wants so badly that he's willing to do most anything to make it right.  Time is all that Henny needs, but unfortunately she doesn't have.  She feels that Henry will give up on her once he has this new baby.

Thanks for the continued reviews.  

 

Reviewer: flikchick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 10 2012 11:50 pm

Title: Building Bridges

So now Henny is beginning to feel how it is for her parents, for you never know when or how love will strike.  I can see Henny dusting off the knee pads, as she has some serious groveling to do to her parents.



Author's Response:

LOL Henny doesn't feel that way....at least not yet!  More is coming!

Reviewer: Jules Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10 2012 11:31 pm

Title: Building Bridges

Oh Will, she still has her training wheels on. Is Henny ready for someone mature? She really needs to grow up. And yeah, Cass was the one to tell her about herself. Will sounds mighty yummy.

This was a pleasure to read. The beginning was tense with emotions, but the ending was so much fun.  I don't know if I can wait until Memorial Day, Ms Brenda. :)



Author's Response:

Well I say Memorial day because I want to try to update the other stories.  More will come though!

Reviewer: BellaChica Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 10 2012 09:56 pm

Title: Building Bridges

What an interesting developement.Henny done found herself a yummy older man.  I wonder what pops with think?



Author's Response:

Oh, it's going to get interesting.  More is coming soon!

Reviewer: juno Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 10 2012 04:29 pm

Title: Building Bridges

That scene that Henrietta made with her parents sent my blood boiling. She was such a vindictive little *itch. I know she was mad and that it has just been her and her mom all these years, but that does not make up for her acting liking a 10 year old brat. She needs to apologize to her mother and really apologize to her father. She's a trip. And Vanessa should go on and marry Henry. Henrietta is passed the age of where Vanessa puts her life on hold for her selfish, controlling daughter. Now it seems as though Henrietta has had a brain freeze since she met Will. GOOD. She needs to live her own life and experience things for herself. I like Henrietta, I just feel that she needs to move on, grow up, and live a little. Great, update!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

Yes, Henny is mad about all this.  She cant' change anything.  Her mother is still pregnant and the changes keep coming in her life.  She has a lot to work through and she regrets those mean words she said to Henry even though she hasn't apologised yet.

More is coming.

Reviewer: Anna Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: April 10 2012 04:18 pm

No results found.


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.