Title: The Healing

 

Thank you for the update. That talk was..difficult for her, I felt it. There did seem to be a bit of hostility coming through, but that is to be expected. As I was reading her thoughts.. one of the things that I realized, is that her children does not really the truth about their parents relationship. Sometimes in a parent's quest to shield their children from certain truths, opens the door to lies and a skewed relationship with the parent/ parents. This can distort their perception of things. However, one doesn't have to bad mouth the other parent, but also not take the brunt of blame if it doesn't belong to you. It's probably too late to change their views about their parents and their relationship with their mother, but who knows with time, they can come to a point where they are comfortable with their mother.

I believe with God's help and the support of her friends, she will get through it all.

Have a blessed and great day.

 



Author's Response:

Sarah Anonymous thnx again for your observations.  Parenting is tough enough I'm sure but add divorce to the mix it's probably ten times harder.  I'm sure that no parent wants to put their children in the middle of their dispute so yes they probably shield them.  Alessandra is doing the best that she can and right now she has decided that she will focus more on moving forward. Of course she would love to strenthen the relationship with her children but at some point she has to take care of herself.  She will continue trusting in God's guidance and He has blessed her with a great family and friends.  We all should have a friend like Agnes and a family like Alessandra's.  Thnx again for your review.  You too have a blessed day.

 

Reviewer: Sarah Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 14 2018 10:51 pm

Title: The Healing

I'm all caught up and this chapter just makes me even more anxious about the complex relationship between Allie and her children. I know you said we'd only get her POV and not much in the way of story about that rift, but I'm left wondering what happened that she became the bad guy, when, from your premise, all she did was sacrifice for her husband and children. Did her children not see any of that? She's left with one-sided, cold and robotic goodbyes. And it hurts her deeply. I really want to know!

I like how Allie handles herself overall. She's smart, says what she means and easygoing. We'll see how that works out with Alistair.

Nice!

 



Author's Response:

Flikchick thnx for the review.  Someone once told me that people will lash out at person's on whom they can depend because they know how they will react.  Instead of lashing on the person that caused the problem because they do not know how that person will react.  It seems to make sense to them.  I didn't understand then but it plays itself out with Alessandra.  

Look at it this way.  For her children Alessandra was always the dependable one.  She kept the family together.  She took care of her children, she took care of her home and she thought that she took care of her husband.  They knew that no matter what she would be there for them.  With the divorce may they project their dissatisfaction at her because they have no idea what will happen if they express it at their father.  Alessandra continues to try to keep the peace.  She has now concluded that she can't do anything more to mend the rift between them.  She has to take care of herself and that is what she will now do.

Hope that explains it a bit. I'm glad that that this chapter has provoked much discussion.  Thnx again for the review.

Reviewer: flikchick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 14 2018 10:16 pm

Title: The Healing

Im just upset that kids are treating like that. I can sympathize Alessandra after suffering physically and emotional abuse from my ex-husband. I was time to move on in which i did i met a wonderful man that love me unconditionally and my kids could not accept him. I realize i have to live my life for me and not for my kids anymore

 



Author's Response:

Tcarey thnx much for the review.  Great to hear that you are living your life for you.  Alessandra is doing the same but it hurts to not have a more loving relationship with her children.  She will make it though rest assured.

Reviewer: tcarey Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14 2018 08:25 pm

Title: The Healing

I understand this chapter and why she felt the need to tell her children about her move. If she didn't they would've used that as another excuse to not be around their mother😕 When I made my move I told my family back in Trinidad and they were not happy for me😕 I was struggling and so unhappy in New York and I had no support, I had no one but GOD😆 Then he sent his earthly angels😇 and I am Blessed😆 I'm digging this update and you did a great job!



Author's Response:

Thnx for the review.  Glad that you thought that I did a good job.  It was a tough chapter.

Glad that things worked out for you.

Reviewer: Tre Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 14 2018 06:00 pm

Title: The Decision

Yay!😆



Author's Response:

Yay for Alessandra.  Thnx for the review.

Reviewer: Tre Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 14 2018 05:47 pm

Title: The Museum

Her background is intense. Hope this doesn't turn out to be just another run of the mill love story. But, do hope that she dumps all the dirt (ex-husband & kids) and moves on to find her own "happy" with or without a man. Rooting for you Ms. Alessandra Monahan!!!!!



Author's Response:

Thnx for the review.  Ms. Alessandra Monahan can make it on her own and she can have her happiness alone too with or without a man.  It's a romance story though so we shall see how things transpire.  Thnx again for commenting.

Reviewer: Anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: August 14 2018 09:49 am

Title: The Decision

Awww geriatric love! So cute!



Author's Response:

Puccapurple if we all live long enough we all reach the 'geriatric' stage.  Love at any age can be amazing.  Thnx for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: Puccapurple Signed [Report This]
Date: August 14 2018 04:11 am

Title: The Deliberation

Thank you for the update. I like mature stories - shows that life has not stopped after a certain age. What I like best about yours...it's realistic, there are parts of the story that is identifiable and relatable. I'm glad that you touched on the financial issue, as well as the race issue. Going so far as to understand that sometimes, one needs to do what is best for themselves. Leaving her children behind, no matter how they are treating her...will be difficult. I think some amends can be made in the future - who knows... maybe they can be friendly. However, I do think the damage and pain that they have caused her is irrevocable.Ale, I hope can grow..spiritually, mentally, emotionally and most importantly just finally be happy.



Author's Response:

Sarah Anonymous thank you so much for the in depth comments.  Yes Alessandra had to consider all the things that would impact such a momentous move as this.  In that she had plans to purchase a house in England even before she met Alistair showed that she had plans to stay there at some time.  She's finding her way.  She's a strong lady.  Doubt that I will write more about her children because it is such an emotional topic it may weigh down the story and I don't want that. Not that it isn't important but this story is about Alessandra finding her happiness and I want to emphasize that.


Once again thnx for reading and reviewing and for your continued support.

Reviewer: Sarah Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 12 2018 04:42 pm

Title: The Deliberation

I love this chapter😆 I'm happy she decided to live her life. As for her children let them make the next move, let them spend their money and their time getting to know their mother. I think England is where she should be. I have a friend just like Agnes  and soon she's about to be my family because I'm marrying her nephew😆 Her and her husband brought me and my son to Virginia, sold me a house for $8 dollars because I wanted to pay something. She said $8 dollars because 8 means " New Beginnings" she got me a job making more money, got me all new furniture, helped me to invest. I have the family I always wanted so change is good😆



Author's Response:

Wow Tre so glad to hear that things are working out for you!  Family doesn't have to be blood. Sometimes they treat you better than blood relatives.  Great that you have such a friend in your life who came to you in your time of need.  Go forth and prosper!

Change can be good. This is a change for both Alessandra and Alistair.  Let's see how things work out for these two.  Stay on the journey.

Thnx again for your review and sharing part of your life's story with us.  Sometimes we get caught up in our own little world that we forget that others have trials too. Keep God first and He will always take care of his own.  We may not see it at first but He is always at work.

Thnx again for your continued support of my writing.

 

Reviewer: Tre Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 12 2018 02:45 am

Title: The Deliberation

Love, the second time around.

Author's Response:

1nadali thnx for the review.  Love blossoms for both Alessandra and Alistair.  

Reviewer: 1nadali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 09:08 pm

Title: The Museum

Thank you for your response. You are very welcome to use any suggestion/s that I have given. It would be an honour. You are one of the few writers on this site that responds to your readers. I always believe that as much as the writers like feedbacks from their readers, so do the readers on getting a bit of acknowledgment on their reviews. You are also open to constructive criticism- (many writers on this site, behave as if it is  their worst enemy)- I like that you can embrace- I like that about a writer...it shows great mental maturity and a willingness to grow and be better at your craft.

 



Author's Response:

Sarah Anonymous thnx for your kind words.  As much as I like reviews I also want to thnx those reviewers for taking the time to review.  I appreciate if someone points out to me something that I have overlooked or make suggestions.  Not to say that I will always take the suggestions but at least the reviewer took the time to make one.  

As my profile states I welcome constructive criticism but will not tolerate blatant putdowns.  This site is like a community.  A community of writers and readers.  We need to support each other.

As a reader when you read and/or when you offer reviews it helps the writer to know that their work does not go in vain.  It shows that someone is reading their material and they're not sending it out into cyberspace never to be said or heard from again.

As a writer, and I can only speak for myself, we write for the fun of it.  I'm new to writing.  I only started writing last month.  I've an avid reader on this site for a few years and have loved the stories by so many of the talented writers on this site.  I tried to give reviews whenever I read a story because I wanted the writer to know that I enjoyed their story and I appreciated their effort in writing the story.

As a writer I love reviews.  They one let me know that someone read the story and thought enough of it to leave a comment.  To me reviews are like seeds, the more that you plant the bigger and better the harvest.

Thnx again for reading and thnx for the review.

Reviewer: Sarah Anonymous [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 07:04 pm

Title: The Museum

I am intrigued. Good beginning.

Author's Response:

1andall thnx for the review.  Stay tuned there's much more to come.  Let me know if you remain 'intrigued'.  Thnx for reading.

Reviewer: 1nadali Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 05:58 pm

Title: The Question

YES!!



Author's Response:

4 for England, 0 for America.  Stories thnx for the review.  

Reviewer: Stories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 02:12 pm

Title: The Run

Keep going please.



Author's Response:

Thnx again Stories for your continued support.  We will continue.

Reviewer: Stories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 02:10 pm

Title: The Tour and the Law Office

Let her buy a home outside of London, close to the seashore, but also close to the rail system.



Author's Response:

Stories, keep reading the best is yet to come.  Thnx for reading and reviewing each chapter.  It encourages me to see the readers so involved.

Reviewer: Stories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 02:07 pm

Title: The Museum

I don't normally read the "mature" stories; thinking; I don't have much in common with them. Your story caught my attention...and I like it. Please continue it regularly.



Author's Response:

Stories thnx for reading and reviewing.  Glad that my 'mature' story 'caught' your attention.  Hopefully you will continue to read and stay on this journey with Alessandra and Alistair.

Reviewer: Stories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 02:04 pm

Title: The Question

Sometimes change is good😆 I know for my son and I... It was the best decision I ever made😆 My vote is for England😆



Author's Response:

3 for England, 0 for America.  Thnx for your comments Tre.  Glad that things worked out for you and your son. Alessandra has a lot about which to think and pray.

Reviewer: Tre Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 11:04 am

Title: The Museum

Intriguing.... will be interesting to see how this develops. 



Author's Response:

Anonymous Anonymous please continue to read and 'see how this develops'.  We will try hard not to disappoint.  Thnx for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: Anonymous Anonymous starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 08:51 am

Title: The Question

 

Thank you for the update. Ale should do what's in her best interest. If she wants to move to England...there are a few questions she should ask herself- (1) 'will I be able to find a job? How will I cope financially?' (England doesn't really have a set retirement age, for most jobs. My Nan is seventy-three years old and is still working as a nurse) (2) If she moves and things with Alistair doesn't work out, will she still want to reside in the country? (3) 'Is this move right for me? Am I doing this for him or me?'

An important questions to ask, if she decides not to move... Is there anything or anyone that is worth being here, for the rest of my life?' 

 



Author's Response:

Wow Sarah Anonymous you really gave a lot of thought to the question!  Don't worry Alessandra will think long and hard about what she wants and needs to do.  She will definitely pray long and hard about it.  

You raise some really good thinking points on her decision.  I just might use them in my story a bullet points, if that's okay with you?  I like to use my readers in my stories sometimes.  Just ask 'Tre' and Blessed Soul' to name a few.  I like my readers to feel a part of my stories.  That doesn't happen all of the time so if you read my story and see your penname don't be surprised.

Thnx again for the review and the suggestions.

Reviewer: Sarah Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 06:54 am

Title: The Question

I think she should move to England after all her children chose their philandering father over her.  



Author's Response:

2 for England, 0 for America.  Pmgayles, don't worry Alessandra will take all of that into consideration.  This is a major step for her and she must weigh all the pros and cons. Most of all she will pray about it.  She is a woman of faith.

As for her children, she still loves them and will consider them in her decision.

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 03:59 am

Title: The Run

I just love Celeste!!



Author's Response:

Yes Celeste is a cutey pie with her "smiling eyes' statements.  She sees it all clearly.  Out of the mouths of babes so they say.

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 03:53 am

Title: The Tour and the Law Office

I really like this story, an older woman finds her second chance at true love.



Author's Response:

Pmgayles thnx for the review.  We all need love whatever our age.  After all that she has endured let's hope that she will find her 'true love'.

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 03:50 am

Title: The Question

Move to England!



Author's Response:

That makes it 1 for England and 0 for America.  Let's see how the results come in and find out who is the winner.  Thnx for the review.

Reviewer: Anonymous Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 11 2018 01:09 am

Title: The Museum

So nice and diferent. Love it



Author's Response:

Bel Anonymous thnx for reading and reviewing.  Glad that you like the story.

Reviewer: Bel Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 09 2018 11:09 pm

Title: The Run

Three times... I'm with Patrice and Celeste on this one😆 They share the love of running and art😆 They are meant for each other😆 I'm digging these update😆



Author's Response:

These meetings seem more than happenstance.  Celeste and her 'smiling' eyes. 👏.  

As always thnx for the review.

Reviewer: Tre Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 08 2018 11:50 pm



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.