Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

Any update soon??? I hope so!

Reviewer: Love33 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 30 2021 12:36 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

Let me start by saying you are a wordsmith. I don’t know that I’ve read better - your command and application is poetic. I’ve probably committed myself to an all but certain future of some level of macular degeneration or some other disorder, not to mention adding to my insomnia, reading through this entire story in a week or so, but it is worth it. 

 

Brandon, however, is not. Like my girl Diya, I feel bad even saying so because he’s been through so much, but his treatment of her, purposeful or not, is too much for me. Cpt. Save-a-Ho Warner can make every excuse in the world for the selfish, terminally helpless love of his life, but continues to disrespect Diya who is trying to look out for the both of them. For someone so prone to self-blame and remorse, he sure knows how to  turn the table and throw things in her face. To have the audacity to swell up about Mannie while believing he’s justified in carrying on with Marisol is more than I can bare. Especially since he’s so hurt Diya won’t trust him, and sees no reason she shouldn’t trust little miss manipulator, but actually accuses her of impropriety with Mannie. He’d never allow Mannie to be to her what he is to Marisol. Although Diya herself doesn’t help the situation with her constant need to mollycoddle. Even when she starts to challenge him, he gets in his feelings, and she regrets it. Diya doesn’t always say what she needs to, but I understand why. I really hope the line about Marisol and them being haunted isn’t a foreboding of the kind I think it is because I really have no desire to feel sympathy for her. She’s a narcissistic masochist who has no real concern for Brandon. Her past and present treatment is proof of that. And he’s too addicted to playing hero to see it. However, Diya actually needs his heroism now. I just hope she gets out of her own way soon. I can’t help but go back to the line from a previous chapter -

Men don’t bother trying to rescue women who insist on saving themselves.

 

To say I’m eager for the next update is an understatement. 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Giro, for this wonderful review!!! It really did make my entire day.

Yeah, you're not alone in being over Brandon's bullsh*t. He has a medley of issues triggered by the women in his life. You've summarized the situation perfectly. Diya needs but denies herself what Marisol takes for granted. Because Diya's primary concern is protecting Brandon, not her access to him, even if that means letting him go.

More to come on that and Marisol's fate, hopefully within the next week or so. Muse permitting.

Reviewer: Giro Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 03 2021 05:17 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

OMGGG THEY'VE REUINTEDDDDD 😭😭😭😭 NO WORDS SPOKEN- HE JUST CAME AT THE RIGHT TIME 😭😭 

wahhhh my heart keeps breaking for our girl. She's gone through so much and honestly, seeing that hoe Marisol try to call Brandon - and Brandon choosing not to answer and continue to sit silently, anxiously waiting for Diya to talk- made me bloody happy. Brandon (hopefully) is getting it .. that Diya isn't going to let her become the other woman. To let her become second best to nobody. 

I 100% want them both to heal and I feel like if Diya left for a bit - or spoke about it, she'd begin to heal. Her family is honestly toxic and if Brandon doesn't realise right now- that he needs to be there for her 100% and not part time her part time with Marisol. that hoe needs to get with the program! I love that Diya didnt just run straight back to him... you can see that he's going through hell BUTTT he deserves a whole lot of it 😳 I honestly hope he sees now ... he definitely seems like he does ... I'm a huge shipper for these two and really really think they'll make it- I just need them to talk face to face - Brandon listening and taking it in. 

That ending 😭😭😭😭😭😭 wahhhh my heart! She literally ends it with "the one place where I belong" ❤️❤️😭😭 wahhhhhhhhh they've reunited and I can't wait to see what happens next! Ahhh thank you so much for updating!! I loved it so much !!! Excited for more 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, Gordana!!! Your excitement and passion for this story is infectious and so appreciated.

Brandon seems to have realized the effect Marisol is having on his and Diya's relationship and what he stands to lose, and is doing something about it. How he holds up under pressure--from Marisol, Diya's family, and his--is another thing. And pressure is definitely coming.

Stay tuned...

Reviewer: Gordana Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 23 2021 01:03 pm

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

Thank goodness...they really had the talk, without talking.  

It should have been raining when Marisol was standing outside.  

So glad they both wound up back home.



Author's Response:

Thanks Penelope! So glad to know I was able to convey them saying alot without saying anything.

Lol! Not the rain. 

Reviewer: Penelope Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 11 2021 06:27 pm

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

Nice update

Author's Response:

Thanks Blessed Soul!

Reviewer: Blessed Soul Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 11 2021 01:32 pm

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

My heart just broke



Author's Response:

Aw, Dallas5star. Sending you virtual, COVID-free hugs.

Reviewer: Dallas5star Signed [Report This]
Date: May 11 2021 02:43 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

Finally !!! Diya needs to be open and talk to Brandon



Author's Response:

Um, that could go either way.

Thanks fanaserie!

Reviewer: fanaserie Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10 2021 08:16 pm

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

I need fir Brandon to kick Marisol to the curb, that hi and her children make my left eye twitch. I want Diya to quit running from Brandon and fir them to talk.  

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2021 11:10 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

I need fir Brandon to kick Marisol to the curb, that hi and her children make my left eye twitch. I want Diya to quit running from Brandon and fir them to talk.  

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2021 11:10 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

Please, please, please, please. Please no regrets!!!



Author's Response:

You know who you're talking to, right?

Lol! Thanks Artamiss Caine!!!

Reviewer: Artamiss Caine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2021 09:59 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

Hmmm...I kinda want Diya to rip his nuts off right about now! And to get the hell away from all of them for a while. She really needs some space to get herself together.

 



Author's Response:

Lol! Castration is a thought, and about as probably as Diya getting some time to herself, as you will soon see.

Thanks flikchick!

Reviewer: flikchick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2021 05:16 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

Okay *exhale* I'm glad they can reconnect in this way. I'm glad Diya didn't push him away. I pray this is the beginning of the healing in their relationship. 



Author's Response:

I make no promises.

Thanks Jkelly14!

Reviewer: Jkelly14 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10 2021 05:00 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

Mannie is not acting like he even wants Zeria.  Brandon....it's been past time to piss or get off the pot.  You can't want to be Diya's man and still be beholden to Marisol.  The moment he realizes that Marisol will pull the damsel in distress thing every time she wants his undivided attention because she will always feel threatened by ANY woman in Brandon's romantic life, the better everyone will be for it. 

Brandon can't expect Diya to give him her all if he refuses to do the same.



Author's Response:

Wise words, BellaLuna7. Mannie, Brandon, and Diya all have a decision to make, about the people in their lives AND each other.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: BellaLuna7 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2021 03:57 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

I love Brandon at the chapter's end...just being who Diya needed...he showed he truly loves her...that's my story and I'm sticking to it...



Author's Response:

Lol! He really does care...that's all I'm gonna say.

Thanks jahchannah!

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2021 02:38 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

I need fir Brandon to kick Marisol to the curb, that hi and her children make my left eye twitch. I want Diya to quit running from Brandon and fir them to talk.  



Author's Response:

Be careful what you wish for...

Thanks for reading and reviewing, pmgayles!

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2021 01:06 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

Okay so I'm gonna have to go back and read this again cause my brain was just happy to see a new chapter. But the conversation between Diya and Brandon then her ending up back at his place......these two need to talk. Also I think Brandon is finally starting to realize that his relationship with Marisol isn't healthy nor is helping with him trying to make his relationship work with Diya.



Author's Response:

Yep. Brandon sees the damage his fidelity to Marisol is causing, and seems to be trying to set some boundaries. But, as the next few chapters will demonstrate, the biggest M won't be easily denied. 

Stay tuned... And thanks for reading and reviewing, NicoleDanielle1988!

Reviewer: NicoleDanielle1988 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 10 2021 12:23 am

Title: Chapter 38 - Odd Woman Out

This such a lovely story. To be honest I just want Diya to have peace. Perhap these two need this moment and Diya will be able to tell Brandon what happen to her. Still have no affection for Marisol and the brats. 



Author's Response:

I hear you. Unfortunately, telling Brandon what happened will create as many, if not more problems for the two of them than keeping the secret. But, in the end, Diya may not be given the choice. More on that to come.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, Bain! So glad you're sticking with the story and still enjoying it.

Reviewer: blueangel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 09 2021 11:01 pm

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

Wow...such a yuck family...poor Diya is all alone, it seems....she needs help standing on her own for her right to self determination...but she, like many, is a slave to wanting acceptance instead of standing strong in her truth...I hope she makes it to the other side intact...



Author's Response:

The odds are not looking good for our girl. But there's always hope.

Thanks jahchannah!!!

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 09 2021 06:14 pm

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

I think it's good that Diya break from the family business. Her and the family need serious boundaries. Now Brandon, he gonna flip a switch when he find out, that's inevitable. But he also needs to give her the space she asking for and come to his senses bout Marisol. 



Author's Response:

Sage advice. Let's see if anyone heeds it. Thanks Jkelly14!

Reviewer: Jkelly14 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 07 2021 05:35 am

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

So good can't wait for more!



Author's Response:

Thanks jetzero! I'll try not to keep you waiting too much longer.

Reviewer: jetzero Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: March 26 2021 05:22 am

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

Sometimes you have to be alone to find yourself. That family is dysfunctional. Diya needs some solace. Nice update

Author's Response:

True, true, and very true. Thanks Blessed Soul.

Reviewer: Blessed Soul Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 16 2021 06:47 pm

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

Whew! 

I do love your new chapters...they are deep and invoke anxiety into Diya's welfare.

Diya don't realize it, yet...but, her father kicking her out will be a blessing in her healing.  Her father loves his girls, but all love ain't good love...his is controlling.  They are nothing but a large, wealthy, dysfunctioonal family.  I would have disappeared cross country a long time ago, but he has them in a closed, tight fist.  I don't even think he hates Brandon, bc of his race or his past, daddy is upset that Diya would leave him for Brandon.

I agree with others that she should get therapy.  She is smart, lovable, but it is not normal to be afraid of her father like this.  He uses their emotions to abuse them.  A therapist will help her understand why she continues to stick around for emotional abuse? what is she scared of losing? Learn how to be there for Diya.

The ex helped, now he needs to step aside and stop calling.  Sure he was there for Diya and will tell Brandon this, bc I think he is as sneaky as her Father.

But, why is Tyler calling her?  If he is not going to take hime to court for assault, block his number.  She is suffering from PTSD and sad to say, it did not start with Brandon's clan.

Tell Brandon, what went down and that she need time to heal physically and mentally.  During the break, he must decide who and what is important to him, who will come first?  Staking out her home is not good enough.  Althought I do think Brandon realizes Diya has been pushed too far and he has screwed up by not being there for her.  I am surprised that he was able to escape the succubus, and her kids, to stake out Diya's place.

Diya's eating crackers and throwing up...Oh, Lawd!  This may be the wake up call to take care of herself. 



Author's Response:

We can only hope. But does she have the tools? Therapy and space to heal would help. But we all know how unlikely any of the people in her life are to give it. William is too consumed with his compulsion to protect, her sisters are comsumed with their loyalty to him, and Brandon is consumed by a number of things. Add Tyler and Mannie to the mix, and it's a recipe for disaster. As we will soon see...

Thanks for your insight and patronage, Penelope! They are much appreciated.

Reviewer: Penelope Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 14 2021 06:16 pm

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

OK, that felt good to me! It was a loooong time coming; and she needs to do that with the rest of the clan! Their behavior concerning her can border on despicable. Her father...I guess there's love in there..somewhere, but it seems as if its a "if you're not with me, you're against me" type of love. And he has room for nothing less. Total submission is his brand of love. That's NOT love.

Diya, she needs to go. Her dad just kicked her out. So just get out of there to some place for some solace and get some therapy. Take the time to honestly think about her life. Her life. Minus Brandon and her family. What does she want. What will she tolerate. And what that looks like and mean if she takes that stand for herself. She could lose some people, but if they cant give what she needs, she doesn't need them anyway. She gives and gives and gives. She never considers herself when she's hurt. Its always about how to make the people who hurt her feel better about it. She's dying inside.

This was brilliant!



Author's Response:

You're right on all accounts. Diya needs healing and to assert her independence. It looks like she may be taking steps in that direction. But there's always a good-(and often bad)intentioned saboteur waiting in the wings. The only question is who it will be.

Stay tuned...

Thanks flikchick!!!

Reviewer: flikchick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 13 2021 05:14 am

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

My poor Diya can't seem to catch a break. This chapter really broke my heart. You make it so easy to be sucked into the story that I often find myself feeling just as sad as she does with every disappointing encounter she has with the De la Roy's. I hope she finds a way to put it all out there honestly. I'm lowkey glad that she got fired so that she can find her own way. They soon won't have anything else to hold over her! I love her and Brandon together but I'm more interested in how she will grow into her own. Love love love it and thank you for updating ’ ❤ 



Author's Response:

YW! Thank you for reading and reviewing, ScorpioDiva!!!

I have to agree. Losing her job is an opportunity for Diya to assert her independence and create healthy boundaries in ALL her relationships. Question is, will the people in her life let her?

I'm so glad you're invested. I'll try not to put you through it for too much longer. You and Diya deserve some happiness.

Reviewer: ScorpioDiva Signed [Report This]
Date: February 12 2021 08:17 pm

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

Jesus this hurt to read. Baby girl has no one in her corner from her family. I'd they had actually listened to her and got to know Brandon and not just assumed the worse, maybe Diya wouldn't feel the need to separate from her family. They only care when they think she's not upholding the family name. Diya deserves so much better from everyone at this point. Diya needs to get away from everyone for a while. That last line got me too. Itsyso easy for her family to walk away but hard for Brandon to do so.



Author's Response:

Yeah. Diya sees the issues in most of her relationships. But our girl can't seem to set firm boundaries and enforce them. And the people in her life aren't making it easy, especially Brandon. He can't let go of Diya. Unfortunately, she realizes there's someone esle he can't let go of.

Thanks NicoleDanielle1988!

Reviewer: NicoleDanielle1988 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 12 2021 06:47 pm



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.