Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

JJ you are making me an emotional wreck. I need to see a therapist after this rollercoaster of emotions.

Reviewer: sharlene Signed [Report This]
Date: August 22 2019 02:04 am

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

I’m beyond proud of Diya for not letting him EASILY get out of this. Yes he stayed the night and I understand that, but she showed true backbone. Here she is taking the literal fire from hell with her family meanwhile you’re lying by omission. Ugh, I love it. I don’t know how long we will wait for the next chapter, but I’m so happy she really didn’t fold like she normally does.

Reviewer: GoddessWarlord Signed [Report This]
Date: August 21 2019 04:54 pm

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

So good! Can't wait to see how this plays out. I really wish Brandon could lay everything all out at once even tho its hard for him to do so... I strongly suggest therapy and. Then he can truely open his eyes to his past and especially where Marisol is concerned.They have to find a way through this they are both keeping walls up around their hearts but they are only hurting themselves.  They are still keeping each other at a distance playing tug a war / give and take with their hearts and one another. Wow they both have a journey on their hands both individually and together.

Reviewer: jetzero Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 21 2019 01:01 am

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

I’m torn with this chapter...I hurt for Diya...she loves Brandon truly but her trust in him is shattered...he could/should have told her about Marisol...but as Brandon begins to feel true love, he is seeing what he felt for Marisol ain’t...Marisol has never belonged to Brandon is quite clear...she likes his attention but doesn’t truly want him...just a nice fallback...until Diya...Brandon never faced the truth of Marisol’s toxicity...his love for Diya makes him face it...such a hard truth but can he cut out the poison...when you’ve been fed poison for so long the withdrawal is quite painful...Marisol, Rafe have Bran co-dependent...they are unhealthy friendships...Rafe knows Marisol is using Bran otherwise he wouldn’t have been so kind to Diya some chapters back after the Tyler confrontation...but with Bran’s toxic family (grandfather, father, brother) he struggles to find acceptance...Diya gives him something he has never had and he doesn’t quite know how to live it...he’s trying...a lot more bumps and trials but I hope he figures it out soon...you, author, are cruel but I know there is a long term payout coming eventually...right???

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 20 2019 11:36 pm

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

I have dreaded reading this based on the reviews. Damn you Brandon, damn you. After everything, the racism, fighting, her family, his family, this heffa that was always been shady from the beginning is the one. My heart breaks for Diya's pain. He came in where she hadn't let anyone in such a long time. He broke that trust w that one lie. You wrote this one cause I am passed in my feelings, heart broken and in despair 

Reviewer: Dallas5star Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 19 2019 04:36 am

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

WELL DAMN! 

This was well worth the wait! 

The emotional roller coaster ride you have taken us on is insane and I'm a tad addicted. I've reread this chapter 3 times. 

Diya has EVERY right to be mad and upset and downright hurt. I really wanted her to shout everything she sees about mari-whore and how he doesn't realise that he puts that bitch before her! I hope she explodes Because she was right and now she knows that what she was suspecting was right. 

My heart broke for her because you can see that she is so torn and humiliated in a sense because this whole time, the ex-love was right there in front of her this whole time. She deserves to go crazy and run. 

Brandon... I hated that I couldn't wholeheartedly hate him. YES for sure I want him to feel so heart broken and torn without Di because he needs to fucken learn that MARIS-HOE should not be present in his life if he wants our homegirl Di. She comes FIRST and should never feel threatened or unwanted. My only thing was when he argued that he truly believed she knew- and the heartache behind his argument just made me only wa t to drop kick him 99%. He definitely stupid for thinking that Di knew and was a ok with it. 

I honestly think she needs to go ghost for a while, break his heart for a while and focus on herself for a minute. Away from her family and all his friends and stink people. 

Brandon needs to know what it's like to not have her... what it's like to actually be without her due to him and his choice of ... hoeship. 

LOVE LOVEVLOVE AND WILL BE TOO EXCITED AND EAGER FOR MORE!!!! Thank you thank you!! It was amazing and I loved it. 

Reviewer: Gordana Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 18 2019 12:13 pm

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

Well...methinks Brandon should not bring his belongings back into her house for a while.

Marisol is a succubus without the sex; Brandon is stuck in limbo with the way he still feels about her as a young man, and Marisol takes advantage of this.  She knew he would always be around and used her kids to cement her position.  Thing is Marisol didn't count on him falling so hard for Diya.

Although i'm glad Brandon came back, Diya needs space from him, and her family, to decide if they truly deserve her in their lives.  I think Brandon loves them both, but one of them is unhealthy fo him....we know who, too.

Reviewer: Penelope Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: August 18 2019 06:25 am

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

Brandon seems willfully ignorant when it comes to Marisol. Diya needs to do self-care.  She seems to be more concerned about Branny than herself. Diya, take a bit of time to figure out who you are and why you let folks treat you any kind of way. You seem to want to belong so badly that you accept treatment that a person who values themselves would've punched the asshats in the throat a long time ago. I think that this goes back to that wack family of hers. You need to help yourself before you can help Brandon. As for Brandon, there are no words. He needs help and I don't think no matter how much Diya loves him, she's not equipped to take on his drama. Remember Diya, you teach people how to treat you and I don't see you being your authentic self with Brandon right now. Girl, run, and run far. I'm so pissed at Brandon right now. 

Reviewer: BellaChica Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 17 2019 06:45 pm

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

What an emotional roller-coaster you put me on with this chapter. Marisol pisses me off with her play at bieng nieve and Brandon refusing to see just what she is. With all thats happened I believe that he truly loves Diya, why else would he return. Can't wait for the next chatper

Reviewer: Zoleka Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 17 2019 09:23 am

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

Well damn!! This is just too much.

Reviewer: flikchick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 17 2019 07:04 am

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

Brandon really messed up.

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 17 2019 02:42 am

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

WoW!! What the hell, Brandon is unstable and Marisol is a bitch. Do not like those two right now. Diya run. Excellent chapter.

Reviewer: blueangel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 17 2019 12:58 am

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

This hurt.......kick him in the balls!!! Make him hurt like I hurt!!!

Reviewer: Artamiss Caine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 17 2019 12:31 am

Title: Chapter 30 - Who I Thought I Knew

SWEET BABY JESUS. THIS WAS A LOT. BRANDON CAN'T SEE THAT MARISOL KNEW OF HIS FEELINGS AND HAS USED THAT TO HAVE HIM AT HER BECK AND CALL. SHE'S BEEN USING HER GIRLS TO KEEP HIM AROUND. SHE DOESN'T WANT HIM. SHE LOVES THAT HE WILL ALWAYS DAMN NEAR HER AND THE GIRLS ABOVE EVERYONE. HE CAN'T SEE THAT SHE IS TOXIC. HE LOVED HER AND SHE USED IT AGAINST HIM. I KNOW HE LOVES DI BUT THIS IS SO DAMN CRUSHING. HE SHOULD OF TOLD HER ABOUT MARISOL PERIOD. THEY WILL NEVER BE THE SAME. I LOVE BRANDON AND DI BUT THEY BOTH HAVE STUFF THEY NEED TO DEAL WITH PERIOD. HE BROKE HER TRUST AND ITS GONNA TAKE A LOT TO GET THAT BACK. GREAT CHAPTER AS PER USUAL.

Reviewer: LelaniDanielle1988 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: August 16 2019 07:29 pm

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

I'm excited to see where this story goes.  The journey's been great so far.  That's why we are all so affected by what happens with/to your main characters.  Looking forward to more. 

Reviewer: iscream4icecream Signed [Report This]
Date: July 20 2019 12:53 pm

Title: Chapter 29 - Who You Love

So here I am again, months later, because I have not been able to get this chapter out of my mind. I need closure from this chapter, answers, something. I truly have the utmost respect for the writing process but girl....you gotta throw me a bone or something. Brandon really just say back and played her like a fool this whole time, gaslighting her and manipulating. After reading other people’s comments I’m inclined to think that he is either the father of the eldest, the uncle of the eldest, or still deep down trying to fill the role of lover and daddy that he feels his brother snatched from him. 

 

I hope diya leaves him. Doesn’t even tell him or her family, just disappears on a 3 week vacation with a burner phone only. Let them panic and stress over her the way she panics and stresses over them all. I do think Brandon and di are drawn to each other because they are addicted to drama and chaos. They’ve lived in constant distinction and heightened states for so long that being together, when there is so much constant turmoil, just continues their norm and they don’t realize that they are comfortable with it.

 

i hope an update is somewhere near on the horizon because the scenarios I’ve been concocting for my lovely (needs to break up) couple in my mind are getting worse and worse 

Reviewer: GoddessWarlord Signed [Report This]
Date: June 26 2019 03:54 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

Hello.  Any update soon?

Reviewer: Love33 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 03 2019 03:07 pm

Title: Chapter 29 - Who You Love

I am literally crying at that last line. I knew it but I didn’t want to believe it. Like my heart is BROKEN. Di is going to walk. She’s not gunna stay. You swear up and down there is NO concern about you playing daddy to your first loves children, staying in the hotel together alone......I literally have tears in my eyes my heart HURTS

Reviewer: GoddessWarlord Signed [Report This]
Date: April 08 2019 07:25 am

Title: Chapter 29 - Who You Love

Awwwwwwww shhhhiiiiiitttttttt

 

I don't even know what to feel anymore!!!

Reviewer: Hera Black Signed [Report This]
Date: April 06 2019 11:14 pm

Title: Chapter 25 - Angles

I'm re-reading your wonderful story again and omg, this chapter had some serious foreboding now that I read the recent one, that last line?! aaah! and it was obvious when Brandon was hesitant to say something and Diya said, 'what are you not-?' he was thinking about his history with Marisol. AHHH! what a mess...can't wait for more lol



Author's Response:

Good eye, chica.  There's A LOT Brandon hasn't said and Diya doesn't know--secrets soon to be revealed.  Stay tuned...

Reviewer: carmen90 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 28 2019 12:17 pm

Title: Chapter 29 - Who You Love

Okay, first offf. I'm so happy you updated. I love this story so much.

Second; WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK, BRANDON!?!

I an inkling but at the same time, I'm still shocked.

I'm trying to sort my thoughts out cause this was alot. This def does explain why Marisol is all up in Brandon's space and completely disrespectful to his relationship with Diya. I'm not exactly sure why Brandon kept that from Diya, he probably thought it wasn't a big deal, I guess. He's in love with Diya and Marisol is in the past but shiiit, he knew Diya's insecurities with his relationship with Marisol. He should have told her. He should know better. And how he's making Diya question her feelings for him and guilting her for bringing up his past and 'rehashing shit'...tf? whether, that was his intention of not, that is manipulation, in a similar way Diya's dad manipulates her cause even though I love Diya, she is a door mat to the people she loves.

tbh, I don't believe Brandon loves Marisol romantically at all, I believe he meant it when he said that chapters ago but, maybe unconsiously, he idealizes Marisol as others idolize their first love. maybe? idk, idk. It's the kids as well, of course, Brandon loves her kids.

I'm trying to imagine myself in Diya's situation and although it kills me to say this cause I love them together, I'd walk or at the very least go on a break. I think Diya needs to work on herself (hell, Brandon needs to work on himself), create distance from her family and develop a very sturdy backbone.

He can't be Diya's partner but also be on the beck and call to Marisol, like it doesn't compute. No woman would stand for that, Diya has the patience of a saint. Like what is Marisol's secret that Brandon has an absolute knock out like Diya but still remains loyal to Marisol?

Anyway, my incoherant rant means I love this story.

Pleeease for the love of God, update this story.



Author's Response:

Lol!  I'm working on it.  I promise.  

Brandon has his reasons for feeling and the doing the things he has/does, including his involvement with Marisol and not telling Diya about it.  The kids definitely play a part in ways even he might not realize.  Whether Diya and Brandon's relationship will survive the reveal is a big IF.  Their only hope is for him to create some hard boundaries for Marisol, if he can.  But even that might not be enough at this point.  We'll soon see.

Thanks for reading and sharing your insight, carmen90!!!  It's spot-on.

 

 

Reviewer: carmen90 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 27 2019 02:23 pm

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

Just rereading previous chapters to refresh my memory of some things and was reminded of Brandon's reaction to Mannie.  And here he is completely entangled in Marisol's life like he's a surrogate father to her kids.



Author's Response:

Yeah, there's a reason for the double standard; you'll be the judge as to whether it's a good one.

Reviewer: iscream4icecream Signed [Report This]
Date: March 22 2019 07:12 pm

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

In which chapter does Brandon share his first love story with Diya? Cause I need to back and read that.  I'm confused right now. 

So happy for your updates.  As usual your writing was impeccable and completely drew me in in every way.   Please don't take too long with the next update if you can help it.   As much as I think this conversation to come between Brandon and Diya will lead to a separation, I know I'll still be engrossed in completely.   



Author's Response:

Thanks iscream4icecream!!! So glad you're enjoying my little tale.  So sorry for the late reply.  I'm working on the update and will post ASAP.  Brandon shares his first love story at the end of chapter five.  If you haven't already, you might wanna revisit the end of chapter 11, also.  It'll provide answers to some questions you might have at the beginning of the next chapter.   

Reviewer: iscream4icecream Signed [Report This]
Date: March 21 2019 07:28 pm

Title: Chapter 29 - Who You Love

Oh hell! I knew Marisol and Brandon did something. Not this though , never this!!! Ugh I see more trouble on the horizon. I wanna cry! 



Author's Response:

Don't cry.  You'll have plenty of time for that in the next couple chapters.

Thanks Michmom2! 

Reviewer: Michmom2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: March 19 2019 03:40 am

Title: Chapter 29 - Who You Love

I would love to have seen everybody's reaction to those last words in chapter 29.

Why Brandon? Why?



Author's Response:

Lol!  Me too.

Reviewer: Marmus Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15 2019 07:10 pm



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.