Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

This was hilarious!  I can't wait for Sunday dinner. What I wouldn't give for a seat at that table! I'll bring the mac & cheese. 



Author's Response:

Lol!  You might want to pack a taser and some zip-ties too.  Thanks BlkPearl!

Reviewer: BlkPearl Signed [Report This]
Date: July 24 2016 04:42 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

I love this story. Her family is just something else, I would go insane if I was Diya. I really want Diya to find another job on the sly, working for her dad has never worked with regards to trying to set her up or keeping her under his thumb by not letting her work at home on some days. I get that she loves her father but she's a grown woman and he's very possesive but the lesbian intervention was funny, frustrating but funny although I'm really surprised Chandi didn't have Diya's back (even a lil bit) during that intervention, seeing as she's the only one in the family that knows about her love for Brandon and didn't seem compltely against it but then again Chandi seems a little sadistic when it comes with messing with Diya. Excited about that lunch, Bran could deff handle himself but her (some) family can be so toxic. This lunch is certainly going to be a true test to their relationship. Can't wait for the next update.



Author's Response:

Yeah, dinner at the De la Roys will be a test and a trial for Diya and Brandon, to say the least.  Chandi was still in her feelings about Diya not sympathizing with her little temper tantrum early that day.  As for Diya finding a new job, that's an idea, but might not be enough to earn her freedom from William's interference.  More on that to come.  Thanks for reading and reviewing, carmen90!

Reviewer: carmen90 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 22 2016 02:41 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

sweet lord - Diya's family are crazy but the chapter made me laugh so damn hard! glad she stood up to them - thanks for the updates! truly enjoyed them  - cant wait for sunday dinner *dun dun dunn...!*



Author's Response:

"Dun, dun, dunn" indeed.  Thanks Yuukiyanagi!

Reviewer: Yuukiyanagi Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 19 2016 08:40 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Finally some  Diya back bone! I love it.



Author's Response:

Thanks Astrid!

Reviewer: Astrid Signed [Report This]
Date: July 16 2016 12:40 pm

Title: Chapter 22 - The Friend of My Lover Ain't My Friend

Ice packs and IBUPROFEN, that's all I got to say.  But I love how Brandon gets all "My Woman Not yours." At the mention of Mannie. But then again Diya goes all "My Branny not yours" at the mention of Marisol. Got to love these two. And the puppies does Brandon really think they are ready to co-parent puppies? Looking forward to seeing how that plays out. 



Author's Response:

Poor Branny.  He thinks they're ready, but has no idea what fate has in store for them...  Thanks for reading and the reviews ,JovanBleu!

Reviewer: JovanBleu26 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 08:05 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

This was just delicious!! I have to say the fact that they thought she was gay and giving her an intervention had me in stitches. Chandi should be ashamed of herself for getting back at her sister this way all because she wasn't having that shit about her not being able to wear her designer clothes anymore. But Duya really stepped in it now, because Brandon will now have to attend a Sunday dinner with her pack of nutcases a.k.a her family. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: JovanBleu26 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 08:02 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Diya's family is crazy!  Chandi could've had Diya's back a little. Diya couldn't avoid this forever if she wants Brandon to be a part of her life, for the both of them. This seems pretty important to Brandon, and by the way he's reacting, seems up for the challenge  I would think she would give Brandon some fair warning by giving him and idea of what he may be up against based on her families precious antics.  I'm a bit curious about Diya's relationship with her mom. Based of what I'm seeing so far, it seems they really don't have much of a connection outside of her dad.

I can't wait to see how Brandon handles dinner with the De la Roy's. 😈 

Thanks for the update! 😄💖



Author's Response:

Brandon will receive some form of a warning, but it may not be all that fair considering what the De la Roy's have in store for him.  

Your take on Diya and Devaneesh's relationship is spot on.  The hows and whys of it will be explored in future chapters.

Thanks Musicluva!

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 04:01 pm

Title: Chapter 22 - The Friend of My Lover Ain't My Friend

Thanks for the updates! 😍   You know I was waiting for 'em!!! 😄  

Diya and Branny are too cute together. I love this love jonesing stage of a relationship. Hopefully it'll get them through what's to come. Seems Branny started stirring the pot with his "swooning" 😍 drive-by visit. I think it's the nudge Diya needed. They've already established their dedication to the relationship, now it's time to step up to the plate, and knock this ball pit of the park.  Stand ya ground with the family girl! c4;🏾 💪🏾

Girl, Branny is a sweet heart with trying to coparent the puppies, but two dogs and two cats?!?!  Not to mention that both of them are in apartments. More importantly, the 'time' it would take, as Diya mentioned. Maybe it would be better to take them to his moms house since they have the house and land. 

 

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 03:52 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

I just hope they'll be so glad she isn't a lesbian they don't give Brandon any hell

Author's Response:

Lol.  A girl can dream.

Thanks, LetMeDream!

Reviewer: LetMeDream Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 03:21 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!! 

Reviewer: ErisJade Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 12:41 pm

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Her family is horrible especially her sisters!!  But she shouldn't have lying about Brandon in the first place. Diya quit that damn job working for your father and work for someone else so you can free from that nonsense.  So good!!

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 09:57 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

Brandon at the De La Roys for Sunday dinner will be a hoot...I dislike them all except Chandi (strangely enough)...she is just a stank heffa out to make Diya suffer because she gets enjoyment out of it but she is still different from the rest of the family in a good way...she knows of Brandon and has not shunned Diya in spite of that knowledge...Amali sucks...what a beotch...but family does not guarantee that you'll get along or always like a person...I'm just glad that Diya found the heart and bravery to tell them the truth that she is in love with Brandon...she has no reason to be ashamed of her relationship and letting the cat out of the bag, I think,  will only strengthen their relationship, in spite of Diya's fears...Brandon is tougher than Diya gives credit to deal with her family as long as she is with him and doesn't hide him...the fun will be in watching them deal with the antics that will ensue...I can only imagine the craziness and how funny it will be, especially with your genius flair for the comedic...thank you for the 2 chapter update...may you continue to be blessed...and just know this story is so my favorite...I am so happy you updated and it's been less than a month to boot...you are bomb!!!

 

 

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 07:36 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

I so love this story. I don't care how you decide to update it, I will be reading to the end.

Reviewer: kuriouskale Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 02:10 am

Title: Chapter 22 - The Friend of My Lover Ain't My Friend

In my car, waiting out the rain, reading. Reads the last sentence & screams! Lmao Jtfo

Reviewer: Avapriceless1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 01:29 am

Title: Chapter 23 - The Trouble with Assuming

JJ, First, stellar chapter, Chica.

But I would commit mass murder on this crazy ass family. These folks are certifiable. But DAMN, if they didn't have me rolling.  I now have a headache from laughing so hard.

But, on the real, I'm glad she finally got it out there. I fear what will happen next. I don't hav any confidence that she will stand up for Brandon. We shall see.

Brilliant!

Reviewer: BellaChica Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 01:19 am

Title: Chapter 22 - The Friend of My Lover Ain't My Friend

Bloody hell! This family.

Reviewer: BellaChica Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 15 2016 01:05 am

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

I love this story so much that I was reading it again and remembered something...in chapter 2 when Diya refrained from giving birthday nookie to her Branny, she offered to make it up to him by giving him at a later date a night of sexual pleasure in the place and position of his choosing...in this last chapter Brandon's getting Diya's signature to submit to a night of sexual play of his choosing is finally taking her up on that former offer...I can't wait to see how this plays out but it's gonna be hot, hot, hot!!!...I love this story and how you bring these little things full circle...if I wasn't paying close attention, I'd miss these fun little tidbits...so excited for the next update whenever it comes!!!



Author's Response:

As always, you have an amazing eye for detail, jachannah.  I've got quite a few seeds planted throughout the story that have yet to flower (see the next couple chapters), which was why I thought about waiting until the story was complete to post.  But the way I figure it, I'll post when I can and readers can decide their own pace.   

The "fullfillment of contract" chapter is on its way.  The next chapter, on the other hand, is already here.  Enjoy : )

Thanks for the fabu review, jachannah, and for your continued support!  It means so very much to me = D

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 10 2016 05:59 pm

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

OK huge fan over here and was beyond overjoyed to see a double update.  As far as the question of frequency of updates, I think waiting until you're finished to upload is my vote.   Would it be possible for us to get some of your earlier stuff to tide us over until this one's finished?  At any rate, I'll probably be rereading this one.  

 

This last chapter had me laughing at Diya's vagina pak and just enjoying their chemistry and blossoming love story.  Although I know there will be obstacles ahead from both sides of their families and their opposites sometimes colliding, I'm looking forward to see how it all plays out.



Author's Response:

Thanks Tricia!!!  The road ahead will be bumpy, but I'm so happy to have you along for the ride.  I appreciate your input.  Slowly but surely, I'll be revising and reposting some of my old stories, starting with Resignation.  

Reviewer: Tricia Anonymous [Report This]
Date: June 21 2016 01:08 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

Is her dad uber rich from old money or  something?  The way he judges a person from a glance and dismisses them makes wonder just how stuck up is this guy, and how in the world did Diya become the person she is under his wing. I hope Brandon's temper  mellows out because it is not going to help in this situation. It  will only add more fuel to the inevitable fire. 



Author's Response:

William is self-made and wealthy, but not uber rich.  His reaction to Brandon had less to do with snobbery and more to do with Brandon's race and appearance.  Between William's Southern upbringing and experiences as a defender of civil rights, most of his interactions with men who look like Brandon have been less than pleasant.  As for Brandon's temper, mellowing is possible, but unlikely.  Thanks Vemo.

Reviewer: VeMo Signed [Report This]
Date: June 18 2016 05:06 pm

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

Just wow... Love it. 



Author's Response:

Thanks keikei2!

Reviewer: keikei2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 18 2016 12:43 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

Just wow... Love it. 

Reviewer: keikei2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 18 2016 12:30 am

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

JJ, thank you for the double-update!  Loving this story!

Diya and her Branny are the cutest! I do understand where Diya is coming from with her over-the-top family, but she really needs to take the leap of faith and trust that Branny will leap with her!  Baby steps though, lol.  I like that even though she was terrified of her father's reaction, she still acknowledged Brandon, so there is that.

I would love for you to continue to update when you have time, and not necessarily wait until the whole book is completed, but that is just my humble opinion...I will read it anyway you decide to write it...love all your stories!

Can't wait to see what happens next...poor papa...lol

 



Author's Response:

Lol.  Poor Papa indeed.  He's having a rough time of it, and things are destined to get worse for all parties involved.  Thanks for giving my girl credit.  Looks like she's gonna get a big push into that leap of faith.  Brandon is sure to leap with her; it's the landing they need to worry about.  

Thanks so much for the input, and for reading and reviewing, Amiefuzzy!!!  

Reviewer: Amiefuzzy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 17 2016 04:20 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

I enjoyed this chapter very much. From Mannie trying to get himself castrated by Diya's friend Zeria. To the ice pack making noise and Diya forgetting about it. Got to say Brandon is one man I would't mind having to deliver me lunch , flowers, and a teddy bear after breaking one's va-jay-jay. I love his protectiveness over Diya because you can truly tell he loves her. And sure I do would sign and submit to his will. The ice bpack scene was hilarious. That damn Chandi is just oo much for words. Between Chandi and William one would have to be heavily medicated, but highluy entertained. Looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Thanks JovanBleu26!!!  I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter.  Chandi and William are two of the biggest personalities in the De la Roy clan, but there are others Brandon and Diya will have to contend with.  More on that in upcoming chapters.

Reviewer: JovanBleu26 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 17 2016 12:58 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

BRAVO...I was crying with laughter reading this installment...your flair for comedy is perfection...then to switch directly into drama...your creative genius really comes to complete and full life here...I so applaud and am in awe of you...I just can't give you enough praise...I knew Brandon was going to surprise her although you did surprise me with Mannie being her guest from the cliffhanger...I so love how you segwayed Brandon's surprise visit into the surprise that was Mannie...and Brandon disguising himself as the delivery guy was pure genius...I can't wait to read of them fulfilling their signed agreement...another LOL moment was when Diya confessed her iced-coochie to Brandon...that's real love...and so funny...only a cray, cray woman would think to write such stuff...love your kind of cray…


That sneaky Brandon is so perfect...I am so fangirling over you, Ms Jax...I loved Diya's response to Brandon when William was approaching...she knew that if she tried to hide him, she would do severe damage to their relationship, so asking him for a kiss that her father would clearly see, showed Brandon that Diya truly loves him and is not ashamed of him...and his response to just kiss her hand shows that he truly loves her and didn't want meeting her father as Diya's boyfriend the first time to start off a firestorm for her...I so love this couple...you are remarkable to create characters that feel so real to me...I knew William would find out...but Diya standing up for herself, I loved...And Brandon's note "as long as you come back to me" had me swooning...just beyond brilliant...Ok as for updating...to be honest, I really, really, really look forward to updates and tend to reread chapters during the wait...I find all sorts of goodies in doing so...I'm spoiled with getting updates, as you write because this story is brilliant and I am too excited to read more...that said, I will always read your work whenever you post...I support any approach you decide to take on finishing the story  as long as you bless me with more of their journey...I am always so excited to read your updates...you made my week with two chapters...I so appreciate you sharing your gift with us...may you continue to be blessed...



Author's Response:

Thanks SO very much for the well wishes and this awesome review!!!  As always, your insight is so on point.  Diya's request for a kiss and Brandon's response said what both needed to hear:  That she wasn't ashamed and he understood that and wouldn't force her into making introductions before she was truly ready.  The note was the icing on the cake, and a reminder that, despite his teasing, Brandon understood Diya's need to leave,, and loved her.  Understanding and love are two things they're both going to need going forward, as William won't take his new discovery lying down.  More on that next chapter.

Thanks again for your input and your support, jahchannah.  I can't express how deeply I appreciate both : )

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 17 2016 06:12 am

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

Oh crap!!!  Shit's hit the fan!! Diya and Brandon both have to be strong and show their love for each other.  This was a great chapter.  Manny was cute, Brandon even cuter.  I'm glad her daddy found out and it will be interesting!!!  Side note...I like the chapter updates even if we wait awhile sometimes.  I know you'll finish they stories, no doubt and we have to understand that you have a life outside of writing.  I'm just happy to get to read your stories because you're so talented, as many people are on VC.  So do what's best for you...I'll always read your stories.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the input and support, Michmom2!!!  I really appreciate both.  And you're right.  Brandon and Diya will need to be strong, because Daddy De la Roy DOES NOT approve and will react as only he can...

Reviewer: Michmom2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 17 2016 04:18 am



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.