Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

To hell with what her father and family thinks about her being with Brandon. Diya you're a grown ass woman! Stop caring what they say about you! This is what frustrates me about her.



Author's Response:

Diya's doesn't care what her family thinks about Brandon beyond what it'll make them do.  With the exception of not wanting her father to know she was sleeping with Brandon, literally and figuratively, she never has.  She's kept their relationship a secret with the sole intent of protecting it.  In the past, her father has successfully run-off multiple boyfriends he didn't approve of for his girls (see the chapter 8 convo between Diya and Zeria).  He'll definitely try with Brandon, and Diya is terrified he'll succeed--fears that may prove well-founded.  Thanks Janez91!

Reviewer: Janez91 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 17 2016 01:19 am

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

Words can not describe how amazingly talented you are. Another great chapter (as per usual) Ive been following you/been a fan since you first started posting work on here..... Speaking of past works (I could be mistaken and please correct me if I am) I recall reading a story you posted about a woman who was stuck between two men (one had constant bad migranes) and the other was named something like Ogden? I LOVED THAT STORY.. would you ever please rethink of posting it? Pretty please....



Author's Response:

Thanks SO much, rougemadame, for your wonderful compliments and your continued support! Both are much appreciated : )  You're not mistaken.  The story was called "Broken Promises."  It's high on the list of stories to be revised and reposted.  As soon as life slows down a bit, I'm on it.

Reviewer: rougemadame Signed [Report This]
Date: June 17 2016 01:04 am

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

I'm glad Diya is finally showing some back bone regarding her relationship with Brandon. It's time for her to draw the line in the sand, and dare them to cross over. Diya need Brandon, and she needs tell her family to frak off. Joelle Jax you are rocking this story hard. Love this chapter. Thank you Bain



Author's Response:

YW, Bain : )  So glad to hear you enjoyed it.  I agree--whether Diya is ready or not, she has to firmly stand her ground with her officious family.  As the story progresses, that may prove easier said than done.

Muchas, muchas gracias for reading, reviewing, and introducing me to "frak"!  I know. I'm so late. Lol! 

Reviewer: Bain Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 11:35 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

Diya you could always quit your job working for your father as he will never give you peace.  Your sister will make a horrible mother, she is much too self-involved.



Author's Response:

You've got a point in both regards.  Thanks pmgayles!

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 11:14 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

Life!!!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

Thanks Artamiss Caine!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Artamiss Caine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 10:50 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

D@mn girl **swooning**. Where can I find a Branny Swagger and Romance 101 class!? Need to sign up a whole lotta men for that one. D@mn, d@mn, d@mn ....!!!



Author's Response:

Lol!  He is pretty yummy : )

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 09:19 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

Awes man JJ, 😱😵, I don't know if I can get through without my Diya and Branny fix every now and again. I enjoy rereading anyway because it seems as if I discover something new each time. My vote would be no, puhleeez, I beg you 🙏🏾 ... don't make us wait. It's up to you though, as this is your masterpiece. 😌



Author's Response:

Thanks for the input and compliment, Musicluva!  For right now, I'll probably just keep posting as I go.  That way, people who don't want to wait can read now, and those who don't still have the option of waiting until the story is complete.

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 08:25 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

Great updates on both chapters JJ!!



Author's Response:

Thanks Jacqua43!

Reviewer: jacqua43 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 08:20 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

At this point, Diya need to pull up her big girl panties, heck even if they are granny panties and get prepared for the war.  If she loves Brandon as much as she thinks then she cannot roll over and play dead like she's done so much before.  You can love and respect your parents and family but you cannot live FOR them.  If your family loves and respects you then they will abide by your decisions.  I remember some quote or statement that mentions love doesn't come with conditions, restrictions etc and that should be true of a parents love for their children.  I am waiting to hear her woman up but I haven't forgotten about Maria Thoteria and Bryan's need to set parameters with her behind also.



Author's Response:

I agree: You can't live for your family.  But in Diya's case, you can't discount their ability to make life and carrying on a healthy relationship very difficult.  The De la Roys don't just criticize and ostracize.  They plot and sabotage.  That's her concern.  She can make whatever declarations and set whatever boundaries she likes, but she can't make them do or not do anything, as you will soon find out.  Marisol is another matter all together.  Thanks lajack1

Reviewer: lajack1 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 07:52 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

I choked on the popcorn I was munching while reading the Ya, Brandon and Mannie scenes. For Reelz. I couldn't breathe there for a sec I was laughing so damn hard.

I'm getting tired of Diya and her inability to stand up to her father and acknowledging Brandon. He does what he does because she ALLOWS him to do so.

Brilliant chapter, Chica. DEAD.



Author's Response:

Thanks BellaChica!!!  So happy you got a good giggle out of their foolishness.  

As for Diya standing up to her father and acknowlegding Brandon, she tried.  In the past, she's allowed William to do the things he does so far as she's forgiven him after the fact.  But, as you'll soon see, that's where Diya's control over William and his meddling begins and ends.  

Reviewer: BellaChica Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 07:40 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

Long past the time for her to do the ups: grow up and stand up.



Author's Response:

Thanks Penelope.



Author's Response:

Thanks Penelope.

Reviewer: Penelope Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 06:50 pm

Title: Chapter 21 - Surprise, Surprise

........... Speechless......... Oh my word......



Author's Response:

Thanks ErisJade!!!

Reviewer: ErisJade Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 05:58 pm

Title: Chapter 20 - Honeymoon's Over

I finally got into this story, (Members Only locks me out and I don't remember the password I used). I see I missed a lot, but I'm  back just in time for the drama to begin...Daddy Dearest meets Mr Tattoo.



Author's Response:

That you are.

Reviewer: VeMo Anonymous [Report This]
Date: June 16 2016 01:04 pm

Title: Chapter 20 - Honeymoon's Over

Hmmmm... Did Brandon perform a surprise drive-by or is it his brother 😮? Sounds like Branny and Diya was really getting it 'in' 😀.  Much needed release for their delayed gratification.  LOL @ Killa Camilla!  Maybe Mal picked up on her scent, and decided to let it be known.

So glad to see this update, but as always, I'm greedy for my favorite story 😋, so update soon. I'm anxious to find out who this visitor is! 



Author's Response:

Thanks Musicluva!!!  The wait for the unmasking of the mystery visitor is over.  Update posted : )

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 15 2016 09:53 pm

Title: Chapter 20 - Honeymoon's Over

Before telling her father about Brandon--she needs to grow a pair and tell Brandon that she is afraid her father will ruin their relationship and why.    She is going to hurt him when he mistakenly thinks she is ashame of him.  



Author's Response:

It's been a LONG time since I posted it, but Diya did tell Brandon the reasoning behind her reluctance to tell the De la Roys about him (way back in chapter thirteen).  Before that, he had assumed she was ashamed of him.  Thanks Penelope!

Reviewer: Penelope Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 15 2016 06:30 pm

Title: Chapter 20 - Honeymoon's Over

no she didn't buy one of those ice packs? HA!



Author's Response:

She did : )  Thanks BellaChica!

Reviewer: BellaChica Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 15 2016 04:18 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

JJ, you made my week dearest! In love with these two!! Thank you thank you!!!



Author's Response:

And you made my week in saying that.  Thanks sunsetdawn!!!

Reviewer: sunsetdawn Signed [Report This]
Date: June 15 2016 12:15 am

Title: Chapter 20 - Honeymoon's Over

Hot hot hot!! Brandon is the sexiest man around and Diya is perfect for him! Her father is so irritating though. He needs to back off plus Diya needs to tell her family about Brandon and move on. Glad you're back!!!



Author's Response:

Thanks Michmom2!!!  William backing off seems highly unlikely.  But Diya telling her people about Brandon...that may happen sooner than you think.

Reviewer: Michmom2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 14 2016 11:11 pm

Title: Chapter 20 - Honeymoon's Over

I could so see Diya stoking a freezer pop up her kitty Kat. Lol I think she has a case against Brandon for breaking it. Lol. Now I am intrigued to find out who has walked in on Diya without her hearing them... Looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

You can't put nothing past Diya.  Thanks JovanBleu26!  Update posted.

Reviewer: JovanBleu26 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 14 2016 10:19 pm

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

Great chapter! Now, did Brandon just show up at her job?!?!



Author's Response:

We shall see...  Thanks Love33!

Reviewer: Love33 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 14 2016 10:07 pm

Title: Chapter 20 - Honeymoon's Over

Beautiful!!!!!



Author's Response:

Thanks Bain!!!

Reviewer: Bain Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 14 2016 07:06 pm

Title: Chapter 20 - Honeymoon's Over

Diya needs to tell her father already, and quit working for her father because he won't take Brandon well.    She just needs to realize that her father would rather lose Diya than accept her love for Brandon.  At least for awhile until he comes around.  Brandon is a keeper!!



Author's Response:

Brandon is a keeper.  But William coming around?  I don't know.  We'll see.  Thanks pmgayles!

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 14 2016 06:37 pm

Title: Chapter 20 - Honeymoon's Over

AHHHHHHH!!!!! Who is it?!?!?!?!?!?!

 

Omg!  Absolutely perfection.  Diya ain't the only one in love!   

 

Can't wait for more!!!!



Author's Response:

You don't have to.  Update posted : D  Thanks bunches of bunches, ErisJade!!!

Reviewer: ErisJade Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 14 2016 06:18 pm

Title: Chapter 20 - Honeymoon's Over

I was thinking about you and this update appeared...I feel so blessed...LMAO...that's what I did with this chapter...Brandon is so adorable not wanting his nookie fest with Diya to end...I loved it...and especially the statement about the quack doctor...but why would an honorable lawyer trust a quack with his daughter's health...strange man Daddy De La Roy, but it's part of his charm...still, I think her father is too intrusive but hey that's just me...I'm fiercely independent...still I think it's time Diya stand up for herself and walk in the truth of who she is and who she loves...Diya also needs to trust Brandon's love for her...he told her he belongs to her, all of him, and all of her belongs to him...so I don't think the tom-fuckery as you state it, of her family will honestsly change that though I do understand Diya's fear...she's not confident Brandon will tolerate the more than asinine behavior he will have to endure from the De La Roys...still I think Diya should stand up for her right to live her life as she sees fit...I have a feeling Daddy De La Roy is about to learn what his baby girl has been doing with herself...all 6 foot something, long haired, bearded and tattooed beauty that has captured her heart...I just love this book so much...thank you for the comedic relief...I love the breadth of your talent...you amaze me and I so appreciate you sharing your gift...



Author's Response:

Jahchannah, your reviews never fail to make my day : ) 

William is a strange man, but not one who necessarily trusts Diya to the Not-So Good Doctor.  He was bring Uncle Elgin over to see his precious baby girl because the man insisted.  And time has come for Diya to stand up to her family, tell the truth, and trust that she and Brandon can weather the ensuing storm.  Question is, can they? 

Thanks for the wonderful review, jahchannah!!!  It is very much appreciated.

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: June 14 2016 06:07 pm

Title: Chapter 7 - Slippery When Wet

These two are really going to be the death of me. I'm trying to tell myself to let everything unfold at a slow pace, but their chemistry is just too explosive at times that I just want to smush their faces and er...um...other parts together and yell 'have at it'. *sighs*

Diya's father is adorable.

And Brandon, he's sneaky, must watch out for him Diya. But like her, I'm mad curious about the beef between him and his brother. I smell all kinds of twisted messiness afoot. 



Author's Response:

Trust your nose...   Thanks oodles, Lapis Love!

Reviewer: Lapis Love Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: June 12 2016 12:12 am



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.