Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

Jesus this hurt to read. Baby girl has no one in her corner from her family. I'd they had actually listened to her and got to know Brandon and not just assumed the worse, maybe Diya wouldn't feel the need to separate from her family. They only care when they think she's not upholding the family name. Diya deserves so much better from everyone at this point. Diya needs to get away from everyone for a while. That last line got me too. Itsyso easy for her family to walk away but hard for Brandon to do so.



Author's Response:

Yeah. Diya sees the issues in most of her relationships. But our girl can't seem to set firm boundaries and enforce them. And the people in her life aren't making it easy, especially Brandon. He can't let go of Diya. Unfortunately, she realizes there's someone esle he can't let go of.

Thanks NicoleDanielle1988!

Reviewer: NicoleDanielle1988 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 12 2021 06:47 pm

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

Before the review, so so happy to see this review! Thank you so much for finding the time and inspiration to update this very beloved story. That being said, life is hectic enough without a pandemonium on top of it. So please, we will enjoy the story in whatever timeframe it come, no hard feelings or love lost. Now to the business at hand lol.

LOOOOOOOKKKK in the words of the ever iconic Aaliyah, WE NEED A RESOLUTION!!!!! Brandon and Diya will no doubt I re-read Love, God, and Ultimatums just for some sweet Valentine's Day feels and my goodness if Diya and Brandon can't find their way back to each other somehow I will be devastated. Diya needs to release this yearning for acceptance from her family (there has been virtually no warmth between her and her mom/sisters, which for me would be enough to add some distance), and Brandon needs to realize Marisol ain't shit (and clearly ain't never been shit). I hope she does something so blatantly disrespectful of him and his long-standing feelings for her that he has no option but to put her ass in her place.



Author's Response:

You're absolute right. Diya and Brandon are both crippled by their fidelity to people who, whether by accident or design, cause them emotional harm. Diya appears to see it. Brandon, on the other hand, is still riding for a person who may very well be the downfall of his relationship with Diya. 

We'll see if and how he'll salvage things, and if the De la Roys don't blow it all to bits.

Thanks so much for being so understanding, and for reading and reviewing, GeenBean! It is much appreciated.

Reviewer: GeenBean Signed [Report This]
Date: February 12 2021 01:56 am

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

Damn I hate her family.



Author's Response:

Thanks pmgayles! You are not alone. 

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 12 2021 01:42 am

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

DIYAAAA MY GIRL! LISTEN. YOU NEED TO GROW THE SAME BACKBONE YOU HAVE WHEN DEALING WITH BRANDON - AND STAND UP AGAINST YOUR FAMILY!!! WHY OHHHH WHYYYY DO YOU LET THEM TALK TO YOU THIS WAY?!!

I have never been more frustrated reading her story. You know I love our girl... but this chapter irked me with her response. 

Her dad... needs to go certain places- to hells gate if he can. Plz. Leave our girl alone. 

Her sister? I can't stand her. 

Hearing about how Brandon is being- I hope they see each other in the next chapter. Wholeheartedly I believe she needs to drag Brandon, make him suffer the way he is right now until he realises his mistake. I do believe in their end game, but I think our girl needs to be rid of everyone right now and then let Brandon deal with all ... that trash before going together. 

I hope she yells and lets loose. I feel like she's experiencing PTSD from all that happened to her :( I'm so sad wahhh

 

thank you sooooo much for updating!! I loved it and of course wanted to rip my hair out hahahahahaah I hope you've been well and can't wait for more! 

Stay safe!!!



Author's Response:

Thanks Gordana!!! I love the passion in your reviews, and wholeheartedly agree. Diya needs to meet her family with the same energy as she does Brandon and they do her. She needs time and healing--something the people in her life refuse to give. 

I can't promise a Diya-Brandon moment next chapter, but will try my best not to further endanger your follicles : )

Be blessed!

Reviewer: Gordana Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 11 2021 02:18 pm

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

JJ,

It's been trying times for a lot of folks, but seeing this update sure shed some light in my day. Unfortunately, I can't say the same for Diya. Seems the only person who is a true friend to her is Mannie. I wonder what Brandy knows, and why the heck is she getting calls from Tyler's phone?!  Unfortunately, the one person who always had her back is acting like an ass with a huge ego. He needs to grow up and loosen the reigns a bit on his daughters. 

So, Diya has decided to call it quits between her and Brandon huh?  Will she have a discussion with him about it?  I understand her hurt behind the assault and attempted rape. Also this BS with Marisol too. I can't say that I don't blame her. Maybe if she had a conversation with him and got some things off her check it may help a bit mentally. She should probably see a therapist about the most recent assault, the Pre-Brandon assault, and her crazy asses family. She'd have a shit ton to talk about, for sure. 

Have Mannie and Zeira called it quits too?  He seemed to be pretty fed up with her shit. 

Great update!  I so needed this! 🥰



Author's Response:

Thanks Musicluva!!! I'm so glad I could bring you a little light, and I appreciate all the love. 

Diya needs to book a multitude of sessions with a qualified professional. Unfortunately, she's too in the mire to see it. Brandon, and his continued ties with Marisol, and her family aren't helping. As you pointed out, Mannie is trying his best to be there for her. But that comes with its own set of complications.

More on that and the state of Mannie and Zeria's relationship next chapter.

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 11 2021 01:44 am

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

Poor Diya, she needs to talk to someone and see Brandon



Author's Response:

Brandon would definitely agree. Thanks fanaserie.

Reviewer: fanaserie Signed [Report This]
Date: February 11 2021 12:22 am

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

Outstanding writing, I'm so upset for Diya. She needs to leave and go to therapy. That rotten so-called family is toxic. There must be a back story on Diya's father behavior or Diya is the whipping girl. I hope Brandon find out what happened to Diya. 

Thank you Bain



Author's Response:

You're not alone in wanting Brandon to know what happened to Diya. But we all know the consequences will be dire. I'm not sure if I'll go into William's backstory. It pretty much comes down to constantly witnessing the evils committed against his people by folks who look like Brandon, and being an overprotective father.

Diya desperately needs space and therapy. I'm just not convinced she'll get it.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Bain!!! 

Reviewer: blueangel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 10 2021 08:03 pm

Title: Chapter 37 - Leave of Absence

Back to Brandon..where she belongs.. right in time for Valentine's Day. The end 🤪🤪😁😁😁



Author's Response:

Lol! You know I can't make it that easy. Thanks Artamiss! Miss you and your work. 

Reviewer: Artamiss Caine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: February 10 2021 04:57 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Whew child! That is a roller coaster. I honestly don't know what will happen next. Like, I cant see how Diya ends up okay with everything going on. But I ca t wait for the next chapter!

 

Reviewer: GreenRoots Signed [Report This]
Date: December 21 2020 06:03 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

I do t know but I feel like everyone wants to blame Brandon for the decisions that Diya wants to make because she wants to know him. But for me it's very interesting to have to characters like a radon and Diya that hide away from each other because they don't believe in what they have. If Diya believed in Brandon she would have never gone to that house that he stays far away from. And if Brandon believed in Diya he would never let anyone even Marisol be in the relationship. Marisol is an open book Brandon isn't continually with her because of her I truly believe it's because of those girls and a promise he made to himself about never giving up just because the passed ended the way it did. Mannie and Marisol might believe they have a chance because Brandon and Diya won't just be open and honest with each other which is why they are self destructing. Brandon isn't spying on Diya because he doesn't trust her I truly think it's the only way he knows to see her. Him asking her about cheating is the same reason she keeps asking about Marisol. Diya doesn't believe him and Brandon doesn't know anything else but Diya hiding from him. Do they need time apart maybe but the fact that Diya is still unable to trust Brandon isn't about Brandon but her self doubt. And Brandon not wanting to share with Diya is t about not trusting her but about a past he really wants to forget, he doesn't want to think about those people that raised him or about how Marisol nearly killed him. He wants to believe that he can have a family chosen by himself even if that family includes someone that Diya is insecure about because it's all he has.

Hopefully with time both Diya and Brandon will be able to talk and air their feelings out and hash out the pain and torment they both have rather than hiding from each other. But for both of them holding onto past significant other ie Mannie and Marisol is never going to be what they truly need unless they are truly ready to let each other go. 

Reviewer: JovanBleu26 Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: December 05 2020 04:32 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Nice update

Reviewer: Blessed Soul Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 24 2020 05:47 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Wow! I see why Diya can't turn to Zeira for support. She is totally self-indulged!  I mean, with friends like that ...  Is Mannie sill hung up on Diya?  He was the support system that I was expecting from Zeira.  Sounds like Mannie is fed up with her antics (and I totally see why).


 I hope Diya can get herself in the right head space during this time.  Unfortunately, I'm sure her self-isolation is sparking more questions for everyone involved (Brandon, her family, and friends).  I'm curious to see what her conversation will be like when she and Brandon see each other.  Will she confront him about her feelings regarding his and Marisol's relationship? I wonder if her trip to the police station will make it's way back to daddy De La Roy?  I also wonder what has Brandon been up to during their break, and if his parents have managed to stay silent on what really happened?


 


Great to see this update!  Thanks!

Reviewer: Musicluva Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 20 2020 09:45 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

I just finished reading this whole story and I am so invested!!! I can't wait for the next update. Ohh Diya makes me so mad with her silly decisions but damn if I can't help but like her. Great writing!

Reviewer: PetitteBelle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 19 2020 08:39 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

You don't understand how fast I clicked when I saw this update!!  

Diya, my girl definitely needs to heal. Time away from everyone, from her family and from Brandon will do her good. 

It's traumatic what she went through and I know she'll get through this, but she definitely needs time. Her sisters and dad are just deadbeats I can't stand them. Seriously I wanted to jump through the screen and fight her lol 

Manny is being her support system and I'm happy he's there for her- but I definitely don't want them together romantically... our girl needs to heal. 

Brandon... I know everyone wants her to ditch him - which at this time, I think she should remain apart - but I think they need to deal with their demons first before they can ever be happy together. He deserves the hate right now no lie

They NEED to actually talk and HEAR each other, but Diya needs to rip Brandon a new one. She isn't guilty- she never cheated. Homeboy however, kept this HUGE piece of info away from her. I don't think he should be forgiven so easily. 

But- I definitely do hope they're endgame after they've healed. I just want her to be happy and also Brandon but Marisol needs to go. 

Such a huge fan!! Legit love love love!

I can't wait for the update!!!

Reviewer: Gordana Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 19 2020 02:57 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Diya...has a ways to go... 

Mannie...well...

Zeria....WTF!...

Brandon....just go...

 

Thank you for the update!

Reviewer: flikchick Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 16 2020 05:49 am

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

So much drama...I still don't see a way out but my hope, brilliant author, is that there is a method to your madness and I just want to enjoy the ride...

Reviewer: jahchannah Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 16 2020 02:42 am

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Thank you for the update!

Mannie is a decent guy, biding his time, imo; hopefully won't be Diya rebound from Brandon.

Glad to see Diya healing on her own time, mentally & physically; stay away from Brandon and her family.

She still loves Brandon, because she did not tell the cops about his family assaulting her.  I think it would have really damaged Brandon and given her family more ammo...she don't want him hurt like that. I still hope Brandon finds out and beat the hell out of them.

Soon it will be time for Diya to go home...my advice would be to maintain distance from her instigating, selfish, manipulating family.  Also suggest ✂✂ ties with Brandon, because it's hard to keep loving someone that don't love you back...completely.  Wish him luck and focus on Diya...I would get a dog.😏

Stay masked😷 up, folks!

Reviewer: Penelope Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 15 2020 03:29 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Great update. I feel like everyone is stuck 

Reviewer: fanaserie Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14 2020 03:03 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Brandon, please kick Marisol to the curb.

Reviewer: pmgayles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 14 2020 12:37 pm

Title: Chapter 36 - Knights and Shining Armour

Good Evening Madame,

Truly enjoy this update and I'm glad you're well. Now getting to Diya I wish she just pickup and leave everyone behind. Mannie is trying to get back in her good standing, and Zeria is a horrible person to exposure Diya pain so openly. That damn family lis messy and mean, lest not forget Brandon. Perhaps he need to find out that his bastard grandfather and brother hurt Diya. As for Marisol and the brats they need to be kick to the curb. You mention David Koresh in this chapter, when the events in Waco happen I was in chemistry lab and my instructor came rushing in and announced to the students what was occuring on national TV, everyone was shock. Per usually a wonderful chapter. Please take care. Thank you Bain

Reviewer: blueangel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: November 14 2020 05:52 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I just caught up on this story today and Girl... you DID THAT!!! Didn't expect the abuse to happen but I'm glad it didn't go further then what happened. I LOVE THIS STORY and have been a fan for years. This is one of the mkst well written, entertaining, heart wrenching stories I have ever read. I'm here for the long haul and ready to see these two make it to the end. Please continue this story. Thank you so much for sharing your talent and imagination with us. It is much appreciated. 😊😊



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a lovely reviewing, Jkelly14! I appreciate you : )

Reviewer: Jkelly14 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 27 2020 05:03 am

Title: Chapter 1 - First Date Redux

I have felt like reading in months and I decided I needed to read and feel and this was where I started. This gutted me. I’ve never read and cried so hard about a character in a book. I read this chapter twice to make sure I didn’t miss anything . Diya is a sweetheart and she is now in pieces. I feel like Brandon and Diya have been through enough and they deserve their happily ever after. I’m just not sure if that will be with each other.
Joelle Jax, I must say you, are writing your butt off and this is one of the most enjoyable stories I’ve read in a long time. So many twist and turns and turmoil on display. Your storytelling and pacing skills leave me wanting more but scared for my fictional friends in the story. Kudos to you! Hope all is safe and well.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your kind words, Unileo77!!! I really appreciate it.

You're right. Both Brandon and Diya deserve happiness. They just might not be that for each other. The next chapter will give you another glimpse as to why.

Update posted!

Reviewer: Unileo77 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: July 31 2020 03:40 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I know there's a light at the end of the tunnel but boy, does it hurt now. Although devastating, this was a wonderful update.



Author's Response:

Thanks, carmen90! We'll get through this.

Reviewer: carmen90 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 24 2020 09:04 am

Title: Chapter 34 - Hell Hath...

I knew that was home was gonna do something. I feel so bad for Diya. I hate Tyler and I hope Hollis broke his raggedy hip. 

Reviewer: Michmom2 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 21 2020 07:49 am

Title: Chapter 35 - Seconds from Disaster

I can't breathe,  my heart is shattered. I don't know how to feel, I'm scared of what might happen if Branden finds out what is sick twisted brother and grandfather did I'm afraid he might just give Diya's father the leverage he needs to get him out of Diya's life for good.

I'm so conflicted, I love Diya and Branden together, however, I hate how Branden refuses to acknowledge Diya's discomforts over his relationship with Marisol. It Kinda feels as if his forcing her to accept their relationship. 

I hope Diya seeks medical help and counselling after what happened to her. Ihope Diya and Branden heal because their relationship is turning toxic and I hope Marisol can accept that Branden can never be hers and allow him to find the love he deserves. 

Lol I feel like what I wrote doesn't make any sense at all 🤦🏾‍♀️. Looking forward to your next update, stay safe and blessed. 



Author's Response:

You too, Mjiki.

Your review makes perfect sense. Diya and Brandon clearly love each other, but are not effective at communicating their needs or setting firm, healthy boundaries for the people in their lives, including each other. Marisol will be a constant point of contention until Brandon realizes her attachment to him exceeds that of a normal friendship, even if her intentions are pure. And that's a big if. Rather than acknowledge that, he blindly defends the relationship and, in doing so, IS forcing Diya to accept it. And we all know that ain't gone work.

More on how it all falls down in the chapters to come...

Thanks for reading and sharing your insight, Mjiki!!!

Reviewer: Mjiki Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: May 20 2020 09:34 pm



Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.

Disclaimer: All publicly recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of their respective owners. The original characters and plot are the property of the author. The author is in no way associated with the owners, creators, or producers of any media franchise. No copyright infringement is intended.